Wedge Salad with Elegant Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by MMZEHER
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Delicious!!! My husband said it tasted exactly like a wedge salad we had at a steakhouse...it was that good! Thanks for the recipe :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMZEHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Made for a late night Valentine's Dinner along with some steaks for my husband and I. I added chopped bacon and dried cranberries to the salad as garnishes. Also, I cheated and used a really thick store bought gourmet blue cheese dressing and thinned it with a little milk and then made a balsamic and brown sugar glaze to drizzle on top. (To mimic the wedge salad that is sold at Outback Steakhouse). This was delicious and was exactly what I was hoping it would be!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Saint Simons Island, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
wedge salad is always good for a nic, valentine dinner! I cooked this for my boyfriend on valentines day...he loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
The dressing was delicious! I used gargonzola instead of blue cheese and it was perfect. Blue cheese would have been great as well. I also cut the vinegar in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
Fabulous dressing! I cut the amount of blue cheese in half. I love the tang from the red wine vinegar coupled with the sweetness from the sugar. Definitely give it time for the flavors to come together (I did make it the night before). I did add some crumbled bacon and chilled the salad plates.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
It's good. I added crumbled bacon. Used green onion instead of red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: Allen, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My review is for the dressing alone. Wow, a 1/2 lb bleu cheese + 1/2 lb on top of salad too? I had 1 cup (8oz) bleu cheese and used most other ingredients as listed, however, I did add about a tsp of dried parsley and used only about a tblsp of rice wine vinegar as I had to make my own buttermilk (milk w/lemon juice.) Didn't use olive oil & only a tblsp of splenda. Tasted great to me. The more you mash up your bleu cheese in the mix, the thicker it gets. Good dressing recipe w/less bleu cheese (unless that's what you like). 8 oz of cheese was plenty IMHO.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CantHelpMyself

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I have made this recipe at least six times. My husband even requests this salad. I did take the advice offered by many people who said to halve the amount of blue cheese while keeping everything else the same. It is a fantastic salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim P.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tecumseh, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
The dressing was awesome. It would be good with wings or chicken nuggets too. I felt the salad was lacking something for it to work with the very strong blue cheese dressing. I think it does need, as some other reviewers suggested....dried cranberries/diced apple and candied walnuts/pecan and or bacon to help balance the dressing?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
I also happen to love the wedge salad from my favorite steak house and this dressing is about as close as you can get to the taste of that dressing. I did change one thing since I did not have any buttermilk and just used regular milk. Buttermilk is slightly tangy so rather than use 100% blue cheese, I used half blue and half feta. The feta cheese gave it a slight tang which would have been present had I used buttermilk. Delicious and oh so easy to prepare. I cannot wait to serve it at my next dinner party...they will never believe I made it myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States