Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is an excellent sauce! I used fresh herbs, from my garden, in place of the dry. I had homemade sausage I used and it was enough to sub for the beef as well. I added at least a tablespoon or so of crushed red pepper because we like a little heat. I toasted Allison with a glass of red wine and one for the pot in her honor. I opted to use 3 29 oz. cans of sauce. Two 29 oz and one can of water for the 76 ounces of water as we like a thicker sauce. The sauce was flavorful and meaty. Wonderful aroma and I could not resist dipping some crusty bread into it; just to *test* it :) The recipe makes quite a bit so I used half over some linguini and froze the rest to appreciate another day. Peace and blessings, Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
The water is dependent on the type of tomato puree you use. Some brands will be more watery than others. Use San Marzano puree as it is much thicker than most brands. I am sure the original recipe is old, and most likely from Italy, so it would make sense to use that much water with Italian tomatoes. The original recipe stated to use the cans to fill up the water, 2 29 oz cans of tomatoes, and one can of paste for the water. So the amount of water would be far less if it had some puree and paste still left in the can, as well as most people would not fill it to the top when they add water to a can and transfer it to their pot! After letting the meat and onions cook, I transferred the rest of the ingredients to my slow cooker, (fit perfectly in my 6 qt.) ,and simmered for 5 hours on low. I have made this several times, and it is fantastic. My family of four can easily get two full meals out of it. Thanks Allison (dog fish head) for sharing your recipe, your legacy lives on! May you rest in peace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Followed recipe except I used 1/2 # mild and 1/2 # hot sausage. Great sauce. This will be my go to recipe! When I make again, I will double! Thank you, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I have to wonder how this recipe turned out for some and not others. I followed it EXACTLY, right up until it came time to add the water. I had serious doubts about the volume called for, which is A LOT. So, I hedged and only added half. Am I ever glad I did, because even three hours of simmering in, it was still trying to thicken up. I kept at it for another couple of hours, with the lid off to keep reducing, and it did finally thicken. We still ended up with a small pool of liquid below the pasta on each plate though, so wishing I had stirred in a 1/4 cup of cornstarch at the end, to mitigate that. The flavor of the sauce was really nice but if I were to make it again, I would double the whole recipe and only add in about a cup or two of water rather than the 72 ounces. The recipe description said to expect a LOT of sauce but we only got two meals out of it, and that was for two kids and two adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made this when it was still a personal recipe and rated it 5 stars....Very easy to make and the kitchen smells so wonderful! The sauce has great flavor, very hearty! I didn't use the butter and I used half hot and half mild sausage. Will definitely be making on a regular basis. I am only sorry I didn't make this sooner. Thank you so much for sharing, Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Absolutely delicious meat sauce. Omitted the butter as the olive oil was plenty to saute the onion and garlic. Simmered for 3-1/2 hours and had a thick, hearty sauce. The seasonings were spot on. Mushrooms would make a good addition, also. Thanks, Allison. RIP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I'm sorry, but we just didn't care for it. It wasnt BAD, but honestly think Prego would have been better. Made as written (including all the water) except i halved the recipe. kind of bland. disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Just finished dinner & this sauce IS awesome! I'm not a fan of rosemary but decided to make it as written the first time(but I did sub all ground beef instead 1/2 beef, 1/2 sausage). I'd halve it(rosemary) next time. It's pretty prominent. Totally my preference, tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Oh my! This is the WORST spaghetti sauce I have ever made! I followed the recipe exactly and after two hours my sauce looked like a thin soup. I decided to let the sauce simmer longer (for 6 hours) and it still never thickened! By that point I figured I would try it anyway hoping the flavor was good. Nope! The sauce was very acidic and the tomato flavor was very strong. I had to add some sugar to counteract the acidity and tomato taste. I also had to add more garlic and other spices to get the mix right. The only reason I rated this a 2 and not a 1 is because after my doctoring of the sauce it was edible. I will NEVER make this sauce again. If you choose to make it, I suggest using much less water (and less tomato paste), adding sugar, more garlic, less rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
FANATSTIC! I did halve all of the spices b/c we do not care for a 'strongly spiced' sauce, and that was perfect for us. I simmered mine about 3 hours and it came out wonderfully thick, and super flavorful. I thought about Allison the entire time I was making this, and that made me smile...This is a new family favorit~YUM! Thank You, Allision, RIP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States