Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday exactly as written. The sauce never did thicken after a long cooking time. I found that there was far too much sauce for the amount of meat. Although it had a decent taste, if I made it again (which is highly unlikely) I would reduce the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
My, God...I think I love you....This sauce is the boss! I didn't need to change a thing. Thanks-a-Million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Just finished dinner & this sauce IS awesome! I'm not a fan of rosemary but decided to make it as written the first time(but I did sub all ground beef instead 1/2 beef, 1/2 sausage). I'd halve it(rosemary) next time. It's pretty prominent. Totally my preference, tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
FANATSTIC! I did halve all of the spices b/c we do not care for a 'strongly spiced' sauce, and that was perfect for us. I simmered mine about 3 hours and it came out wonderfully thick, and super flavorful. I thought about Allison the entire time I was making this, and that made me smile...This is a new family favorit~YUM! Thank You, Allision, RIP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Followed recipe except I used 1/2 # mild and 1/2 # hot sausage. Great sauce. This will be my go to recipe! When I make again, I will double! Thank you, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Absolutely delicious meat sauce. Omitted the butter as the olive oil was plenty to saute the onion and garlic. Simmered for 3-1/2 hours and had a thick, hearty sauce. The seasonings were spot on. Mushrooms would make a good addition, also. Thanks, Allison. RIP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is an excellent sauce! I used fresh herbs, from my garden, in place of the dry. I had homemade sausage I used and it was enough to sub for the beef as well. I added at least a tablespoon or so of crushed red pepper because we like a little heat. I toasted Allison with a glass of red wine and one for the pot in her honor. I opted to use 3 29 oz. cans of sauce. Two 29 oz and one can of water for the 76 ounces of water as we like a thicker sauce. The sauce was flavorful and meaty. Wonderful aroma and I could not resist dipping some crusty bread into it; just to *test* it :) The recipe makes quite a bit so I used half over some linguini and froze the rest to appreciate another day. Peace and blessings, Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I did change a little but not too much. No butter for the sauté just a wee bit of olive oil. Thank you for this recipe, I wish I could have told you how much I liked it when you were here. Everyone loved it at this house! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Outstanding, no tweaking. Makes a ton of hearty thick sauce (oops, I forgot the water!) but you can freeze it or give some to a friend! RIP Allison, you'll be toasted every time this is made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I have put this off in the past due to the butter, but yesterday I was reminded that one should enjoy every day. I made a half batch, no skimping on the butter, and my homemade crushed tomatoes weren't quite as thick as puree so I added a little extra paste to compensate. The only other change was my homemade hot Italian sausage, as I had no mild left. Thanks for the recipe, Allison. I'm sorry I didn't try it sooner, but it is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing your gift...June 26, 2013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States