Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I can't believe it took me this long to try this, this is GREAT sauce! I made this yesterday. everyone says it makes a lot. it takes a big pot to make it in that's for sure. I made a few changes: used 1 can (29oz.) crushed tomatoes, and 1 can (29oz.) tomato puree, filled 1 can with the water called for. used extra garlic (family preference), added fresh rosemary, fresh oregano, and just a touch of Savory. along with all the other spices it called for. (my mistake) was using Chicken Sweet Italian sausages I had on hand. Not realizing that they were fully cooked, and had sun dried tomatoes in them. That being so, the sauce still came out great! The 3 of us ate large portions and still had 3 16 oz. containers to put into the freezer for later. So next time I will use a mild Italian sausage, and ground beef. also will use extra garlic still. and as many fresh herbs as I can. but will cut back the butter just a bit. (personal thing) Thank you Dog Fish Head for sharing such a wonderful recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Too much tomato paste, it's overpowering. Followed it exactly and after making this the second time, it is definitely not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This sauce is awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phillip Loftis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I loved this recipe. I used sweet and spicy venison 1lb and and 3/4 lb rib eyes. I followed suggestion for. A thicker sauce with the 2 cans of purée and one can of water. I did still use the three cans paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Harder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Reduced servings to 22, as I had 3/4 lb each of ground beef and sausage. Also only used 4 cups of water. Still a little thin--likely go with 2 1/2 - 3 cups next time. Liked alot, though--will def make again. Thanks to OP and other reviewers for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
I used this recipe as my base and I really liked it! I didn't have butter so I used all olive oil and sauteed my onion and garlic (and some red pepper flakes) before I added the hamburger and italian sausage which I doubled. I used all tomato sauce instead of paste and puree as I didn't have that on hand. The italian seasoning that I used had lots of rosemary in it already so I left out the extra rosemary. After I cooked it I transfered it to my crockpot on low for about 4 hours. Every one was ravng about it and it was even better for lunch today after sitting overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea Blackshear

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
Didn't use the butter, used fresh basil, red wine, and 1/4 c. sugar to omit the acidity. I really liked the consistency of the sauce. I also omitted sausage to reduce calories. I'd make it again. Have fun with seasoning. That's the best part of making spaghetti sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacqueline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA
Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
This is the best Spaghetti Sauce I've ever had or ever made! I put ALL the spices in my Magic Bullet to completely blend and pulverize, then added them as per the directions. Other than that I made exactly as written. It has the texture and flavor of an "HOURS" cooked sauce. I do believe the trick to this recipe is the minimum of 2 hours simmering with the lid OFF! It came out perfect. I fed 4 Granddaughters, my youngest son and husband & myself. There wasn't one drop left. I will be making this again and will make for gifts and canning too. Really the very best Spaghetti Sauce ever!!! If I could, I would give this 10 STARS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was an amazing recipe, with a few modifications. I did not omit the butter as some others have done, but halved it (I think it adds depth). Instead of 9.5 cups of water, I added 7, along with 1.5 cups of red wine and the liquid from reconstituted wild mushrooms (about 1 cup). Also added chopped wild mushrooms, halved kalamata olives, capers, and about a tsp of Umami paste. I was dubious of the rosemary in this recipe but it blends perfectly. Definitely recommend adding the salt, though it says optional. I also simmered covered for 1.5 hours, then uncovered for another hour to reduce it down. Beautiful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years and it's still the best one ever! I use hot sausage instead of the mild and sometimes I'll add extra rosemary. It makes a lot and freezes very well! This is the secret to my awesome lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States