Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I'm sorry, but we just didn't care for it. It wasnt BAD, but honestly think Prego would have been better. Made as written (including all the water) except i halved the recipe. kind of bland. disappointing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was an amazing recipe, with a few modifications. I did not omit the butter as some others have done, but halved it (I think it adds depth). Instead of 9.5 cups of water, I added 7, along with 1.5 cups of red wine and the liquid from reconstituted wild mushrooms (about 1 cup). Also added chopped wild mushrooms, halved kalamata olives, capers, and about a tsp of Umami paste. I was dubious of the rosemary in this recipe but it blends perfectly. Definitely recommend adding the salt, though it says optional. I also simmered covered for 1.5 hours, then uncovered for another hour to reduce it down. Beautiful!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
I've been making this recipe for years and it's still the best one ever! I use hot sausage instead of the mild and sometimes I'll add extra rosemary. It makes a lot and freezes very well! This is the secret to my awesome lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kylee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kailua, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Oh my! This is the WORST spaghetti sauce I have ever made! I followed the recipe exactly and after two hours my sauce looked like a thin soup. I decided to let the sauce simmer longer (for 6 hours) and it still never thickened! By that point I figured I would try it anyway hoping the flavor was good. Nope! The sauce was very acidic and the tomato flavor was very strong. I had to add some sugar to counteract the acidity and tomato taste. I also had to add more garlic and other spices to get the mix right. The only reason I rated this a 2 and not a 1 is because after my doctoring of the sauce it was edible. I will NEVER make this sauce again. If you choose to make it, I suggest using much less water (and less tomato paste), adding sugar, more garlic, less rosemary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is very rich but oooohhhh sooooo good!! I followed this for the most part but did add some favorite seasoning and herbs. Don't be afraid of all the water, it cooks down and helps soften the flavors as it reduces. This make 3 2lb deli containers for the freezer. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We love this spaghetti sauce recipe. I usually just make the sauce, omitting the meat and make Meatball Nirvana recipe for the meatballs. This recipe is great as-is, but is also so versatile, that I now usually make it with the tomato puree and two large cans of San Marzano tomatoes, coarsely chopped. I sometimes skip adding the tomato paste and adjust the water amount to 1/3 of the amount called for. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
My family loved this sauce. I did double all the ingredients except for the water to create a thicker sauce. I also added a 1/2 c of brown sugar to cut the acid from the tomatoes. Made enough sauce for three pans of baked pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I have to wonder how this recipe turned out for some and not others. I followed it EXACTLY, right up until it came time to add the water. I had serious doubts about the volume called for, which is A LOT. So, I hedged and only added half. Am I ever glad I did, because even three hours of simmering in, it was still trying to thicken up. I kept at it for another couple of hours, with the lid off to keep reducing, and it did finally thicken. We still ended up with a small pool of liquid below the pasta on each plate though, so wishing I had stirred in a 1/4 cup of cornstarch at the end, to mitigate that. The flavor of the sauce was really nice but if I were to make it again, I would double the whole recipe and only add in about a cup or two of water rather than the 72 ounces. The recipe description said to expect a LOT of sauce but we only got two meals out of it, and that was for two kids and two adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Family thought that this was a good recipe but I had to do a few tweeks. First I only put in 6 cups of water (recipe calls for 9 1/2 cups) and still found it to thin so next time will cut back to 4 cups. Found that the tomato taste was strong but correct that by adding sugar and I also added 1 tbsp of garlic powder and an addition tbsp of Italiam seasoning. Will be making again. RIP Allison and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
After I poured the water in the meat mixture, I had serious doubts but as it cooked, a wonderfully textured sauce developed. It was DELICIOUS. I didn't change a thing except to cook it for 3 hours instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyDC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States