Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
Confession time: my husband is so darn picky that I typically use spaghetti sauce from a jar because it's not worth my effort to make homemade sauce that he won't eat. I'm not sure what came over me, but I decided to try this recipe and am so glad I did. It is easy, delicious, and it makes enough for multiple meals. Although initially I was scared by the amount of butter, it did give the sauce a terrific mouthfeel. (How can you go wrong with butter and sausage?) I'm glad to report that my husband liked this recipe, but even if he didn't, I would make it again for myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2015
It's definitely missing something; I am Italian and have tried all types of different sauce recipes over the years, sorry to say I will not be making this one again. It was a huge disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2015
Really really good! The only thing I didn't do was use nearly that much water. I used only a half a cup at most.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
my girlfriend loved it thks great tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Fairchild

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2015
Outstanding Sauce. I let it cook several hours longer than recipe called for. I also recommend reducing the amount of water used. Other than that it's fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2015
I can't believe it took me this long to try this, this is GREAT sauce! I made this yesterday. everyone says it makes a lot. it takes a big pot to make it in that's for sure. I made a few changes: used 1 can (29oz.) crushed tomatoes, and 1 can (29oz.) tomato puree, filled 1 can with the water called for. used extra garlic (family preference), added fresh rosemary, fresh oregano, and just a touch of Savory. along with all the other spices it called for. (my mistake) was using Chicken Sweet Italian sausages I had on hand. Not realizing that they were fully cooked, and had sun dried tomatoes in them. That being so, the sauce still came out great! The 3 of us ate large portions and still had 3 16 oz. containers to put into the freezer for later. So next time I will use a mild Italian sausage, and ground beef. also will use extra garlic still. and as many fresh herbs as I can. but will cut back the butter just a bit. (personal thing) Thank you Dog Fish Head for sharing such a wonderful recipe with us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Semigourmet

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I did not care for this recipe. Too much tomato paste, it's overpowering. Followed it exactly and after making this the second time, it is definitely not for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2015
This sauce is awsome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phillip Loftis

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
I loved this recipe. I used sweet and spicy venison 1lb and and 3/4 lb rib eyes. I followed suggestion for. A thicker sauce with the 2 cans of purée and one can of water. I did still use the three cans paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Harder

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
Reduced servings to 22, as I had 3/4 lb each of ground beef and sausage. Also only used 4 cups of water. Still a little thin--likely go with 2 1/2 - 3 cups next time. Liked alot, though--will def make again. Thanks to OP and other reviewers for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cheshire, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States