Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made this for the second time, made 1 1/2 times recipe; used Italian sausage and added dried parsley and only about 1/3 of the water called for in the recipe. Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by midwestchef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: New Albany, Ohio, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
wow, this is delish. I saw Allison's photos and when I told hubby I was making this. He asked me to make it chunkier with meat because that's how he likes it. So I added about 3/4th of a pound more hamburger. It was thick and hearty just like my hubby likes it. I will make again. The aromatics in the house smelled amazing and wouldn't change a thing other then keeping the amount of meat in it, that I did. Miss you Dog Fish ;-) and thank you for sharing your recipe here for others to try. I will keep this one close to my heart and always in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Outstanding, no tweaking. Makes a ton of hearty thick sauce (oops, I forgot the water!) but you can freeze it or give some to a friend! RIP Allison, you'll be toasted every time this is made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is an excellent sauce! I used fresh herbs, from my garden, in place of the dry. I had homemade sausage I used and it was enough to sub for the beef as well. I added at least a tablespoon or so of crushed red pepper because we like a little heat. I toasted Allison with a glass of red wine and one for the pot in her honor. I opted to use 3 29 oz. cans of sauce. Two 29 oz and one can of water for the 76 ounces of water as we like a thicker sauce. The sauce was flavorful and meaty. Wonderful aroma and I could not resist dipping some crusty bread into it; just to *test* it :) The recipe makes quite a bit so I used half over some linguini and froze the rest to appreciate another day. Peace and blessings, Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
The water is dependent on the type of tomato puree you use. Some brands will be more watery than others. Use San Marzano puree as it is much thicker than most brands. I am sure the original recipe is old, and most likely from Italy, so it would make sense to use that much water with Italian tomatoes. The original recipe stated to use the cans to fill up the water, 2 29 oz cans of tomatoes, and one can of paste for the water. So the amount of water would be far less if it had some puree and paste still left in the can, as well as most people would not fill it to the top when they add water to a can and transfer it to their pot! After letting the meat and onions cook, I transferred the rest of the ingredients to my slow cooker, (fit perfectly in my 6 qt.) ,and simmered for 5 hours on low. I have made this several times, and it is fantastic. My family of four can easily get two full meals out of it. Thanks Allison (dog fish head) for sharing your recipe, your legacy lives on! May you rest in peace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by westcoastmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I have put this off in the past due to the butter, but yesterday I was reminded that one should enjoy every day. I made a half batch, no skimping on the butter, and my homemade crushed tomatoes weren't quite as thick as puree so I added a little extra paste to compensate. The only other change was my homemade hot Italian sausage, as I had no mild left. Thanks for the recipe, Allison. I'm sorry I didn't try it sooner, but it is a definite keeper. Thanks for sharing your gift...June 26, 2013
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I did change a little but not too much. No butter for the sauté just a wee bit of olive oil. Thank you for this recipe, I wish I could have told you how much I liked it when you were here. Everyone loved it at this house! It is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Absolutely delicious meat sauce. Omitted the butter as the olive oil was plenty to saute the onion and garlic. Simmered for 3-1/2 hours and had a thick, hearty sauce. The seasonings were spot on. Mushrooms would make a good addition, also. Thanks, Allison. RIP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Followed recipe except I used 1/2 # mild and 1/2 # hot sausage. Great sauce. This will be my go to recipe! When I make again, I will double! Thank you, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
FANATSTIC! I did halve all of the spices b/c we do not care for a 'strongly spiced' sauce, and that was perfect for us. I simmered mine about 3 hours and it came out wonderfully thick, and super flavorful. I thought about Allison the entire time I was making this, and that made me smile...This is a new family favorit~YUM! Thank You, Allision, RIP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Quick Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a super-simple spaghetti sauce. It's ready in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States