Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
We think this is a 5-star recipe! It lends itself well to whatever meats you care to add because you can always adjust the seasoning to complement them. In my case I used up a little al fresco chicken and apple sausage that I had to go along with the hamburger meat, so I knew it needed a heavy dose of Italian seasoning--a little more oregano and fennel. I thought the base of this (tomato/water/garlic/onion) was right on the mark! Obviously Allison had worked long and hard to get this ratio just right! Well done! This will be a go-to recipe for spaghetti sauce! And I love that I can freeze part of this for those nights I just don't feel like cooking! Thanks, Allison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Do yourself a favor and use the butter! I made a half batch of this because I was skeptical of the rosemary and the butter..I was wrong! This was wonderful! I was forced to use half of the meat for meatballs because of the family, but I fried them in butter to keep the same flavor profile. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made this when it was still a personal recipe and rated it 5 stars....Very easy to make and the kitchen smells so wonderful! The sauce has great flavor, very hearty! I didn't use the butter and I used half hot and half mild sausage. Will definitely be making on a regular basis. I am only sorry I didn't make this sooner. Thank you so much for sharing, Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I made this recipe yesterday exactly as written. The sauce never did thicken after a long cooking time. I found that there was far too much sauce for the amount of meat. Although it had a decent taste, if I made it again (which is highly unlikely) I would reduce the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
My, God...I think I love you....This sauce is the boss! I didn't need to change a thing. Thanks-a-Million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Dallastown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Just finished dinner & this sauce IS awesome! I'm not a fan of rosemary but decided to make it as written the first time(but I did sub all ground beef instead 1/2 beef, 1/2 sausage). I'd halve it(rosemary) next time. It's pretty prominent. Totally my preference, tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
FANATSTIC! I did halve all of the spices b/c we do not care for a 'strongly spiced' sauce, and that was perfect for us. I simmered mine about 3 hours and it came out wonderfully thick, and super flavorful. I thought about Allison the entire time I was making this, and that made me smile...This is a new family favorit~YUM! Thank You, Allision, RIP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Followed recipe except I used 1/2 # mild and 1/2 # hot sausage. Great sauce. This will be my go to recipe! When I make again, I will double! Thank you, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
Absolutely delicious meat sauce. Omitted the butter as the olive oil was plenty to saute the onion and garlic. Simmered for 3-1/2 hours and had a thick, hearty sauce. The seasonings were spot on. Mushrooms would make a good addition, also. Thanks, Allison. RIP
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy_in_TN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2013
This is an excellent sauce! I used fresh herbs, from my garden, in place of the dry. I had homemade sausage I used and it was enough to sub for the beef as well. I added at least a tablespoon or so of crushed red pepper because we like a little heat. I toasted Allison with a glass of red wine and one for the pot in her honor. I opted to use 3 29 oz. cans of sauce. Two 29 oz and one can of water for the 76 ounces of water as we like a thicker sauce. The sauce was flavorful and meaty. Wonderful aroma and I could not resist dipping some crusty bread into it; just to *test* it :) The recipe makes quite a bit so I used half over some linguini and froze the rest to appreciate another day. Peace and blessings, Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States