Wedding Gift Spaghetti Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
This is very rich but oooohhhh sooooo good!! I followed this for the most part but did add some favorite seasoning and herbs. Don't be afraid of all the water, it cooks down and helps soften the flavors as it reduces. This make 3 2lb deli containers for the freezer. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mickdee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
We love this spaghetti sauce recipe. I usually just make the sauce, omitting the meat and make Meatball Nirvana recipe for the meatballs. This recipe is great as-is, but is also so versatile, that I now usually make it with the tomato puree and two large cans of San Marzano tomatoes, coarsely chopped. I sometimes skip adding the tomato paste and adjust the water amount to 1/3 of the amount called for. Just awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissKitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2013
My family loved this sauce. I did double all the ingredients except for the water to create a thicker sauce. I also added a 1/2 c of brown sugar to cut the acid from the tomatoes. Made enough sauce for three pans of baked pasta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Plyler

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I have to wonder how this recipe turned out for some and not others. I followed it EXACTLY, right up until it came time to add the water. I had serious doubts about the volume called for, which is A LOT. So, I hedged and only added half. Am I ever glad I did, because even three hours of simmering in, it was still trying to thicken up. I kept at it for another couple of hours, with the lid off to keep reducing, and it did finally thicken. We still ended up with a small pool of liquid below the pasta on each plate though, so wishing I had stirred in a 1/4 cup of cornstarch at the end, to mitigate that. The flavor of the sauce was really nice but if I were to make it again, I would double the whole recipe and only add in about a cup or two of water rather than the 72 ounces. The recipe description said to expect a LOT of sauce but we only got two meals out of it, and that was for two kids and two adults.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Family thought that this was a good recipe but I had to do a few tweeks. First I only put in 6 cups of water (recipe calls for 9 1/2 cups) and still found it to thin so next time will cut back to 4 cups. Found that the tomato taste was strong but correct that by adding sugar and I also added 1 tbsp of garlic powder and an addition tbsp of Italiam seasoning. Will be making again. RIP Allison and thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nadine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
After I poured the water in the meat mixture, I had serious doubts but as it cooked, a wonderfully textured sauce developed. It was DELICIOUS. I didn't change a thing except to cook it for 3 hours instead of 2.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PattyDC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
This sauce is fantastic!!! My 22 year old son who is not crazy about red sauce, was eating it by itself in a small bowl. He was telling his friends how great it was and how great the house smelled. I made it as is, just doubled the spices and 1/2 mild & 1/2 hot sausage (that is just our taste). At dinner time I had both of my sons friends and girlfriends ready for dinner. The whole pot of sauce, 2 lbs of noodles, and 16 pieces of garlic bread later, it was gone. I got hugs and kisses the rest of the night. We all thought it was the best sauce ever!!! It will be "our" sauce from now on. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
We think this is a 5-star recipe! It lends itself well to whatever meats you care to add because you can always adjust the seasoning to complement them. In my case I used up a little al fresco chicken and apple sausage that I had to go along with the hamburger meat, so I knew it needed a heavy dose of Italian seasoning--a little more oregano and fennel. I thought the base of this (tomato/water/garlic/onion) was right on the mark! Obviously Allison had worked long and hard to get this ratio just right! Well done! This will be a go-to recipe for spaghetti sauce! And I love that I can freeze part of this for those nights I just don't feel like cooking! Thanks, Allison!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jadedgurl
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Do yourself a favor and use the butter! I made a half batch of this because I was skeptical of the rosemary and the butter..I was wrong! This was wonderful! I was forced to use half of the meat for meatballs because of the family, but I fried them in butter to keep the same flavor profile. We will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jadedgurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
I made this when it was still a personal recipe and rated it 5 stars....Very easy to make and the kitchen smells so wonderful! The sauce has great flavor, very hearty! I didn't use the butter and I used half hot and half mild sausage. Will definitely be making on a regular basis. I am only sorry I didn't make this sooner. Thank you so much for sharing, Allison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Meaty Spaghetti Sauce

See how to make a hearty tomato sauce with beef, pork, and pepperoni.

Spaghetti Sauce

An easy homemade spaghetti sauce with tomatoes, onions, garlic, and herbs.

Stephanie's Freezer Spaghetti Sauce

See how to turn summer bounty into a ton of tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States