Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I halved the recipe, but other than that followed it exact. I loved the texture of this cake, however, the flavor was lacking. I was surprised that it wasn't sweeter since it had 1/2 cup more sugar than other white cake recipes. I may try this again, but it needs some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakeaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA
Photo by tiff_7_17
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
I am not an experienced baker by any means but I was happy to see this cake was so highly rated. I baked it and used lemon filling and buttercream frosting for a birthday cake. The plan is that I practice over the next year so that I can bake my own wedding cake! It was very easy and super good and everyone was shocked to hear that I was a fairly inexperienced baker. A few people remarked that it did have a similar consistency to pound cake and it was easy to cut and move around into layers as I made a 4 layer cake. Will definitely make again. I added lemon zest to the cake and the frosting, and brushed the layers with lemon simple syrup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiff_7_17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Good cake! I followed the advice and added the almond and lemon extract, delicious with the additions :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bambina82

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
First Cake I ever made for my son's 1st bday, who has soy allergies. It turned out awesome!!! My first try was a 1/2 batch and I went a little heavier on the sour cream, it turned out perfect. My second try was for the party we hosted and was a 2 1/2 batch into 3 springform (circular) pans. This turned out OK, the cake itself was delicious but it had a really hard time firming up/baking. So I needed to leave this oversized bacth in the oven for longer, thus resulting in a burnt bottom crust. We ended up just cutting that thin layer off and everyone raved about it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
I have tried other recipes before, had bad luck. This recipe was PERFECT for making layered cakes. Not only did the cake stand up to being stackable and easy to decorate, but it tastes great. I made it for a friends wedding, and the guests raved about the cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaJollaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Richfield, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Good. WARNING it is not light and fluffy like a wedding cake. I wanted something that was not light like wedding cake and it is good cake! Perfect. It was better the next day rather than fresh out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
This recipe is absolutely awesome. The first time I made it, it was a flop. When I made it the second time I added a pinch of salt and about a tsp of almond extract, made sure I kept checking the cake as it was baking, don't over bake this cake, it will dry out. When made properly this is the best cake recipe for any kind of cake. I've used it for wedding cakes, birthday cakes, carved cakes. Everybody raves about this cake! It is a very heavy dense cake, it is NOT light and fluffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
This was very good - and had a nice denser texture. I made cupcakes with them, and they turned out really well. I'll try this recipe again with layered cake next - making a wedding cake next summer, and looking for the perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gcheaddress
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Love this cake. made it for my mother in laws birthday and I got rave reviews. I have made this a few times since and cont. to plan on making it in the future. Lovely cake, great texture, love it with the simple suger poured over it made a very moist and tasty cake. Yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gcheaddress
Home Town: Poplar, Montana, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
This is one of the easiest and nicest cakes that I have ever made from scratch. I cut the recipe to feed 8 and it turned out perfectly. Everyone loved it. It will be the only white cake I'll bake from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Mcgregor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Prep Cake Pans

Watch how to properly prepare a cake pan in two easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States