Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Wonderful! Perfect for a hobby baker! I liked it with a little almond flavoring added, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2012
I made this for the first time as my sons wedding cake. Lucky for me it turned out great!! Everyone said it delious! I did add the extra flavorings that the first reviewer said which is ,,1/2 tsp. salt , 1/8 Lemon extract and 1-2 tsp. Almond extract in addition to the tablespoon of vanilla and I think that made alot of difference in the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Living In: China Grove, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made sure I tried this recipe first before serving to others and its all wrong too much sugar. I think the white texas sheet cake came out better minus the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Luv&Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
I was not impressed with the cake texture from this recipe. The cake did not rise much, and it was very dense, as others have said. The flavor is good, which is why I gave 3 stars. I will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Ferndale, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I gave this recipe four stars just because I did modify it a little. This cake is dense and worked perfectly for my aunts wedding cake as the base. I wanted a stronger base and not something light and fluffy. I added extra vanilla and half the sour cream, tasting as I went along to get it to the flavor consistency I wanted. This cake cooked beautifully. Although I did think it was baked as I did the toothpick test; it came out clean; however when it was cut into the center was a little undercooked. I would say to check it after thirty minutes at five minute intervals until you are sure its cooked all the way through in the center. Overall, fantastic cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by McKennacat

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paw Paw, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tonya
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2012
This cake is excellent! I tried another white cake recipe and there is no comparison. I made a few adjustments in advance after reading the other reviews. 2 1/4 c cake flour, 3/4 c butter, 1/4 c crisco, 1tsp vanilla, 1tsp almond, 1/2tsp lemon, 3/4 salt. I beat the egg whites and folded them in at the very end of mixing. I also used room temp ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonya

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Wetumpka, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Used this to make cupcakes YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by care625

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farmington, Missouri, USA
Living In: Mohnton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
It was so good and not super sweet, My husband loved it. He does not like super sweet desserts. I used organic suger and added 1/8 tsp lemon extract and 1/8 almond extract and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. I will it make again! Best white made from scratch cake I've found so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marblehead, Ohio, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I'm rating this recipe with 4 stars because of changes that had to be made to the recipe. This cake was ok. It was a little bland so I added the lemon extract (1/8tsp) and the almond extract (1tsp) along with 1/2tsp salt. I'm pastry chef and was looking for a light cake nad based on other's reviews saying the cake was dense, I seperated my eggs and beat the egg whites (with 1tsp cream of tartar to help hold the peaks) until stiff peaks formed. I mixed the rest of the batter as directed and folded in my egg whites at the very end. It turned out perfect! A light cake with good flavor. Reicpe is ok as is, but I highly recommend the alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This cake was tasteless and when baked EXACTLY to recipe directions,the middle of cake was not done at all - soup like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Brookhiser

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 130) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Simple White Cake

See how to make a simple white cake that’s perfect for layer cakes and cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States