Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: May 17, 2008
I have used this recipe twice now. Though I add a little extra vanilla, and have to bake it for longer than 60 minutes in the bundt pan. I love this and get rave reviews every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
I liked that it wasn't super sweet but it was a bit dense and dry for me. Would be great cake for a jello cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nixa, Missouri, USA
Living In: Richwoods, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
This is a very good pound cake recipe. The taste is great. In my opinion it's kind of strange for a wedding cake, but then again I eloped:) Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beddy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
This is a delicious cake recipe. I made it for brothers wedding. I got so many compliments that evening. It was very east to cut and ice. I baked the cake in four different sized round pans to make the traditional tiered wedding cake. It was perfect. I recently made the cake in the 10 inch bundt pan and the batter was way too much and overflowed all over the oven. Next time I will not use all of the batter to compensate the bundt pan or I'll use a 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2007
I made this recipe with the 'Wedding Cake Frosting' submitted by Jeannine. I added some strawberries, and it turned out very well - but as others have said, it was quite dense. I added more baking soda and baking powder, but it was still tough to cut and more like pound cake than the fluffy wedding cake I imagined. It was still delicious, however!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This cake was crumbly and very dense, definitely not like wedding cakes I've tasted in the past. I felt that it was a little too bland as well. If I ever decide to make this again I'll do what someone suggested and add some almond and lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Tastey cake, but I was disappointed with how it was more like a pound cake, than a wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I would only call this cake so-so. It wasn't very very difficult to make but it was more time consuming than other cakes I usually make. It was somewhat bland, I like to sometimes eat cake without a frosting but this is not one I could do that ith. It's texture was funny to, it was almost crunchy like angel food cake. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie D.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
good cake, nice and moist but very much like the pound cake others have reviewed. way too many eggs for an everyday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I made this cake for my brother's wedding 2 weeks in advance (froze it right out of the oven) and the ENTIRE cake got eaten (not a matter of servings - there was plenty). I got SO many compliments on this cake. I put the Rolled Buttercream fondant over top of Buttercream Icing submitted by Sharon G. - It was PHENOMENAL. Thanks for a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States