Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
This cake was crumbly and very dense, definitely not like wedding cakes I've tasted in the past. I felt that it was a little too bland as well. If I ever decide to make this again I'll do what someone suggested and add some almond and lemon extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Tastey cake, but I was disappointed with how it was more like a pound cake, than a wedding cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
I would only call this cake so-so. It wasn't very very difficult to make but it was more time consuming than other cakes I usually make. It was somewhat bland, I like to sometimes eat cake without a frosting but this is not one I could do that ith. It's texture was funny to, it was almost crunchy like angel food cake. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie D.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
good cake, nice and moist but very much like the pound cake others have reviewed. way too many eggs for an everyday cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2007
I made this cake for my brother's wedding 2 weeks in advance (froze it right out of the oven) and the ENTIRE cake got eaten (not a matter of servings - there was plenty). I got SO many compliments on this cake. I put the Rolled Buttercream fondant over top of Buttercream Icing submitted by Sharon G. - It was PHENOMENAL. Thanks for a great success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Excellent recipe! The cake tastes even better after it has had a chance to sit for a couple of days (if it lasts that long). Beautiful texture, cuts nicely. It's one of my favourites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
I was initially optimistic when I read the ingredient list for this recipe, however, it was a bit of a disappointment. To its credit, it was a very moist dense cake. The things that I didn't like were that it had very little flavor if any, it was more of a pound cake than a cake, and I think the leavening is a little off of the ideal. At any rate, I think that this recipe could be really good with some slight alteration but as written, it isn't there yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Friend, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Summit, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I have never made a cake from scratch before and decided to try this recipe. The recipe is simple to follow. I would say that I have never had a wedding cake this dense, but I thought the taste was wonderful! I am not sure what aftertaste one of the reviewers is talking about because I was not left with one. I would relate the density to a pound cake and the taste to a just sweet enough wedding cake. I do think I will be making this cake again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marion, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PATRINCIA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2007
Okay, to be fair to this cake I am amending my original review, but am only increasing the rating to 4 stars because of the need to revise the recipe. I made this cake again with a few additions based on what others have suggested (1/8 tsp. lemon extract, 1 tsp. almond extract, and 1/2 tsp. salt). Those additions made a huge flavor improvement upon the original recipe. I found that this cake bakes up beautifully in several different sized cake pans, but didn't do as well in cupcake form. It is also very sweet (similar to cotton candy in taste) and very dense, but it cuts beautifully and stays moist for a couple of days. I can understand why others have described it as being Pound Cake-like, but that's not completely accurate.... pound cakes are indeed heavy and moist, but they also have an incredibly silky texture, and a delicately sweet buttery flavor that just melts in your mouth - this cake is nothing like a pound cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATRINCIA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
This was a great cake! It, was, as many said, dense, but if that is what you need, than this is the cake for you! After baking, I cut off the top then split each layer for a total of 4 layers. Between 2 layers I spread a layer of raspberry/strawberry filling, then the 3rd layer had real whipped cream mixed with fresh quartered blueberries. Whipped cream frosted the top, and a buttercream along the sides and "dam" along the top edge. I definitely would not ever make this cake if I did not plan to cut it into 4 layers. And definitely not without filling it with something yummy! Good solid cake with a purpose!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Heavenly White Cake

See how to make a wonderful white cake from scratch.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Cake Pop Maker

Have a ball! See how to make cake on a stick with the Cake Pop Maker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States