Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
Finally I have my perfect frosting recipe!! The only changes I made was: I used 2 tsp. of Wilton's clear imitation vanilla and left out the almond flavoring, as we don't particularly like almond flavoring. I also added 1 tsp of fine salt instead of 1/2 tsp (I used canning salt because it's the finest I had). It turned out to have the particular taste I was looking for. My family loved it. It will be the only recipe I use from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
Halved the recipe,because I was only frosting 2doz cupcakes. This left my mouth with a nasty greasy feeling and I used high quality shortening and beat for the recommended time. I couldn't serve this to people. Scraped off what I had done and ended up using a classic buttercream instead. Search continues for a white frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Love this frosting recipe! Have used it many times and have gotten so many compliments on it. The only thing I do differently is use half milk half water and use many different flavorings. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Sooo sweet and makes tons! Made half batch. Used half butter and half crisco.(BUTTER FLAVOR works best). After whipping 10 min i liked the flavor much better. Added the rest of the sugar and did not care for the sweetness, too stiff and no longer had any almond flavor. Make again using 3 cups p.s. and 1 tsp almond. Half batch covered dozen cupcakes and 13x9 amply with left overs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVPERRY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
This is like mine except I add 1 tablespoon of meringue powder, 1 teaspoon butter flavoring, and only 1/4 teaspoon salt. I use a full 2 lb bag powdered sugar and all Crisco. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Awesome recipe! The best I have tried. The only thing I did was cut the powdered sugar down to 6 cups instead of 8. I wanted a icing not as sweet so I cut it down. And I omitted the almond extract because I wanted the vanilla flavor. But other than that it is perfect! It is pure white and perfect for a wedding cake. Will be using it more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
Perfect Bakery Quality icing! loved by everyone who i've made it for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Weatherford

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
Perfect. Just what I wanted. I will half the recipe next time and add more almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I liked this a lot! Very simple. I used milk instead of water, and you need to add a bit more milk than water, perhaps another tablespoon or two (a note on the milk - I knew I had room in the fridge for all the cupcakes I made, but if yours are staying room temp, keep with the water. In theory, shortening, water, powdered sugar, and extract are all fine to keep at room temperature). I also put a touch more vanilla in and used butter-flavored shortening, which gave it a bit more flavor than if you used normal (though I'm sure that'd be good too!). Otherwise, didn't change anything. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I rated this as it's written because I was looking for a more classic almond wedding cake frosting and this just tasted like sugar. After I added nearly a Tbs (possibly more) almond extract it became a 6-star at least. My husband practically swooned over it. I can see it being easily modified to other flavors. It's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Russell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 201) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States