Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Awesome, awesome, awesome! I've used this recipe for a lot of different baked goods requiring icing. It has a fantastic texture, is very easy to work with, spreads out to a satiny smoothness with an offset spatula dipped in hot water, and can be very versatile with a few drops of your favorite extract added. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This recipe is the best i've ever tasted.. It tastes just like professional bakery icing and much better thn store icing. My 4 year old daughter who suprisingly doesn't like sweets was licking the bowl. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
We needed a icing that was fast to make and plenty of it. My sister to me to look up a "Wedding Cake Icing". This recipe came up and we tried it. Let me tell you it was great. Our family celebrates everyones B-days & Anni. for each month of the year. So this icing will be used every time we make the Cakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2001
This is a wonderful icing. Perfect consitency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newbern, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Kewanee, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
Glorious! Be sure to mix for the minimum time recommended in the recipe -- this is the only way to get the fluffiness you want. :0)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2003
This is truely the best cake icing recipe I've every come across. It spread easily and tasted good. I put in mint extract and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
I wanted my cake to taste as close to a bakery cake as possible and this icing did the trick. It was delicious! Several people asked me where I bought my cake. I followed the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. It also make LOTS of icing. I was able to ice a 9x13 cake and about 30 cupcakes. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bountiful, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
You ROCK Cherie!! THank you for allowing me to FINALLY make the icing I've always wanted to!! Perfect consistency, perfect taste....truly fabulous! A million thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2006
This was simple to make and very good. Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MARIAM
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
best recipe for cake icing i've made yet. Used real vanilla extract. Very easy to make, tastes great, looks great, and decorates perfectly whether it's for piping rosettes, or even for making roses. Just add more milk for the softer decorations like the piped leaf, and less for the rose.Thank you so much for sharing this recipe, it is what I was looking for!UPDATE-------------It's now been a few years, and I have tried many other icing recipes, and this one is still my favorite. I now use half butter and half shortening and it works perfect! I think that I'll try it with all butter the next time I need it for a serious fancy cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARIAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States