Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
This is the easiest icing recipe ever!! Truely a nice light,not too sweet icing.I didnt have almond extract so used only vanilla. Turned out perfect. I have to agree it makes alot of icing.Stores easily. Tastes fantasic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
I have been making a similar icing since I was young - I divide the 1 cup shortening and use 1/2 c shortening and 1/2 c butter and substitute milk for water - this icing is so popular people request it and my kids eat it with a spoon - I make all our family cakes with this - great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
Tried this today...was skeptical about adding half the sugar and mixing for 5-10 minutes, but it made for a very fluffy frosting, but still spreadable. Sometimes this type icing is hard to spread, but this was great. I think it has a very good flavor and not greasy. Looks great on my son's 2-layer birthday cake with plenty to use for piping (used chocolate filling, did not use the wedding cake between layers)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Florala, Alabama, USA
Living In: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
best recipe I've used for white frosting yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
Made this icing and it received raves all around. I used it on "David's Yellow Cake" found on this site. Changes I made to the recipe were: 1/2 salted butter-1/2 plain crisco 2 teaspoons real vanilla 1/2 cup milk 6 cups(2 boxes)confectioners sugar I tasted it, and it didn't leave any greasy coating in my mouth like others claimed. Will definitely use this again as it holds up well in the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Great icing. Tastes good and makes great deorations - rare combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2010
Very good, but just a little too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Photo by pam
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Excellent recipe!!! This recipe makes me feel like a baker. Wouldn't change a thing. I use this recipe with the Best Rolled Sugar Cookie recipe on this site. Again, Excellent recipe!!! The taste is superb!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
I didn't care for the the all shortening taste. Next time I will try with half butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
I used this icing recipe for my own wedding. I didn't have almond extract so I used double vanilla. The Cake turned out wonderful, and I used it with the recipe for Heavenly Wedding Cake (recipe found on Allrecipes). Everyone really liked the cake! The recipe was easy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Awesome Carrot Cake with Cream Cheese Frosting

This carrot cake is dense and delicious, a real crowd-pleaser.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States