Wedding Cake Icing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
Great recipe..delicious and easy to follow
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I rarely rate things this low, but I found this icing to be inedible. I followed the recipe exactly; it was painfully sweet with little flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya Howell

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sulphur Springs, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
loved this. just made this tonight for cupcakes for my daughter's 6th bday and her kindergarten class! The only alteration is I did 1/2 cup shortening, and 1/2 cup of butter, and I increased the almond extract to 1/2 tsp. Super awesome Icing!! You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Loved it. I didn't have almond flavoring, so only used vanilla. But also used butter instead of shortening. It was perfect and had just the right flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
recipe was great, totally worked for me. i took the advice of most reviews (about it needing more flavour) swapped the amount of almond and vanilla - more almond less vanilla and it turned out well. used it for my son's backyardigans cake and needed different colours/consistency and the recipe worked for switching consistency. i'm giving it a great rating because it was 1. delicious 2. easy to work with and 3. EASY!!! thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystabar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
very sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Robinson, Illinois, USA
Living In: Galion, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Excellent frosting! I have never made a frosting that had such a great consistency. It melts in your mouth. So good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by edyoungdell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kearns, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
EXCELLENT RECIPE! I cut this in 1/2 all the time to ice a sheet cake (at home). Anyone that thinks it's greasy-you did not follow instructions. By beating the shortening, water, flavoring and 1/2 sugar, u are incorporating the water/moisture into the shortening, which lightens it. If you don't follow that step (yes, mixing about 10 min prior to adding the rest of the sugar) it will leave a film/be heavy tasting. I did substitute the following: 1/2 C shortening, 1/2 C unsalted butter to my version. FANTASTIC flavor! Have a cake baking right now my daughter made just to have the frosting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Best homemade icing!! This recipe's consistency is very easily changed with adding more confectioner's sugar. However, I found it challenging to spread onto the sides of the cake. The flavor is amazing and all of my friends loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Waverly Hall, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This icing tasted horrible. The roof of my mouth was greasy. Could not use it. I do not understand the reviews that say it isn't greasy. It had beautiful texture, consistency and spreadability though, which is the only reason I gave it 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slim1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitby, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 51-60 (of 199) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States