Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2002
I made this recipe to decorate my son's birthday cake. It was great. It was very easy to make and use. I only made half a recipe and had enough for the whole cake and piping. This recipe held up extremely well. It didn't melt or run. This recipe was also very yummy. I put it on a chocolate cake and it covered it very well and you didn't see the brown. Everyone loved it a big hit that not only looked great but tasted great also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2005
I picked this recipe because it seemed really easy to make and it was my first attempt at buttercream icing. The result was awesome!! Very easy to make and I received so many compliments! I had enough icing to cover a birthday cake and 20 cupcakes. I creamed the butter and shortening for 20 minutes like a previous reviewer suggested. I didn't use all the sugar that the recipe called for because when I got to 6 cups I stopped and did a taste test, perfect for my taste(20 servings). This recipe will be used over and over and over again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Decatur, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
Loved this recipe. Everyone who tasted it wanted to know where I got it from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Great frosting! I used about 6 cups of sugar instead of the 8 called for. And, I beat the shortening and butter for about 20 minutes before adding the other ingredients. It turned out great. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2006
This was fantastic! It makes a lot.. I halfed the recipe and it covered 24 cupcakes and 1 8inch round and there was still leftovers.. It was out of this world-- I would definately use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2001
This frosting is easy to work with and tastes great! I get tons of compliments on my cakes when I use this recipe. Takes almost no time to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2004
I'm not much of a cake fan, but I prepared this frosting to use with "Happy Birthday Cake" from the allrecipes.com website. In fact, it was a perfect match. I'm not enough of a frosting connoisseur to know how closely this recipe compares to that found at the bakery, but it tasted close enough for me. I can't imagine how sweet this would have tasted with the eight cups of sugar that it calls for. Following other reviewer's recommendations, I only used 4 1/2 to 5 cups of sugar, and that was a great plenty. It got rave reviews from my wife.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This is an awesome frosting recipe! I've tried MANY other recipes, but this one is a keeper. Easy to make and easy to work with. Thanks!!1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
Absolutely delicious. My new favorite, Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2006
I made this for a wedding cake and got so many compliments on how well it tasted. Many people went back for seconds as they enjoyed the cake so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States