Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
This recipe is fantastic! Cream crisco and butter well (few minutes) before adding sugar. I too add a little popcorn salt. Add PS one cup at a time and incorporate well with each cup. Use all 8 cups! Then, begin adding milk to your desired consistency. It's awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by three-peas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This frosting was THE BOMB!!!!! It is now the only frosting I use and my kids love licking the bowl. It really compliments any kind of cake, whether it's chocolate, white, or even yellow! YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
I found that adding butter makes it melt. I used it for my Senior Project. I added butter and it didn't come out the way I wanted it to. I wanted it fluffy but w/ butter it doesn't make it fluffy it makes it melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AnnaRodriguez
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Monroe, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
I was looking for an all white frosting and found this one. As with any recipe I scaled the ingredients one by one to my family's own personal taste. I used 1 1/4 C. Crisco, 3/4 C. Butter ( less to ensure I got white frosting), Dropped the Milk to 2 tsp.( wanted a thick frosting but spreadable) and the Confectioners' sugar to 3 C. Originally, tried 4 C. but was still way to sweet. As recommended by another viewer I whipped the Crisco and Butter individually and then together. If I could rate the reviewers it would be 5 stars based on their advice however, I feel that something has been omitted in the recipe and rate it a "3".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I liked the texture and flavor achieved by using both shortening and butter. As I always do with frostings calling for shortening, I used hi-ratio shortening which is far superior to the grocery store variety. I also added 1/4 tsp. salt to heighten flavor. I didn't measure the milk, just added it little by little until I had the consistency I wanted for piping onto cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Excellent and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
this recipe was great. I would recomend it to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
I liked the taste - that was really good. But I didn't care for the stiffness. I actually used this for a wedding cake that I was testing out. I couldn't create a smooth finish with this loose a consistency. And I certainly couldn't make flowers. I ended up adding some seedless raspberry jam and using it for filling on another cake. In the end, I would possibly make this frosting again, but would never use it for any decorated cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2009
I have tried buttercream frosting after buttercream frosting to match what I taste on the outside. But alas, I find them way too sweet! I cut this sugar in half and still found it still too sweet and the icing looked really shiny like shortening, which didn't matter so much since it was being covered with fondat. The search continues.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Messy Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aberdeen, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
WOW! I am so impressed with this frosting! I made it exactly as written with the exception of "white" ingredients (i.e., vanilla and shortening). I did have shortening, but it's butter flavored (the only kind I buy) and so the frosting didn't turn out white. BUT WHO CARES?! I was going for taste, not look. I handed a beater to my husband and his eyes about popped out of his head because he loved it so much! My only qualm is that this makes A LOT of frosting... I mean A LOT. So, I'll use what I need for a birthday cake and then tomorrow I'll whip up a spice cake, add a little cinnamon or pumpkin pie spice to the frosting and use some there. I still think that I'll have some left and if I do, I'll probably add some lemon extract and yellow food coloring and put it on a lemon cake and give it to the neighbors! Next time I think I might scale it down a bit. Overall... easy, fast, wondeful texture, tasty and holds up well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Algonac, Michigan, USA
Living In: Erie, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States