Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
Good enough to eat, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Irish Momma 6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
i was worried this was going to be too sweet, so I took the suggestions of previous reviewers. I doubled the shortening, used 1/4 c milk, and 5 cups of confectioners' sugar. I also added 1/2 tsp alm extract. This turned out really light, not too sweet, and "this tastes like wedding cake frosting" (a comment from my husband who wasn't sure what i was trying to accomplish :) I'll use this recipe again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joy Peterson Brand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Toasty Mama
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
This recipe is a classic - so easy and so good! Will make again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toasty Mama
Photo by tiff_7_17
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Made exactly as directed, great frosting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tiff_7_17

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gcheaddress
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
My cake is the HAPPY BIRTHDAY NOELA cake posted pic. Very good and easy to make. I ddint really change much just the amount of shortening I used. I used 1 cup butter, and 1/2 cup shortening. I measured 6 cups of powdered sugar, but then just mixed in what I needed until I like the consistancy. I also added almond flavor instead of vanilla, just cos thats how she likes it. I used electric mixer to fluff it up. My mother in law raved about her birthday cake as did my family. I liked it so much Im gonna use this recipe for my daughters 16th birthday in a few week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gcheaddress
Home Town: Poplar, Montana, USA
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
If I could give this ten stars I would!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tarot Witch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Really liked this recipe. I didn't have any milk so I used 1/2 & 1/2 and only had regular vanilla but it was fine. I actually didn't like it until the next day. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPCOCO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Methuen, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
I've tried several recipes in the past, this is not one of my favorites. I made a double batch, and stopped after 9 cups of sugar. I followed the advice of reviewers and mixed the butter and fat for 10 mins. I added literally a splash of water because it already looked so soft. The texture is something akin to whipped cream. It forms soft peaks at best. Like all shortening-based frosting, this leaves a feeling like there's a coating in your mouth. It is NOT a crusting buttercream. I'm sure it would have thickened up if I'd added more sugar but it would have been unbearably sweet. This is for a wedding cake; luckily it's NOT an outdoor wedding and it does not require ornate piping. Won't use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
This is a very good recipe for what I affectionately call it- lard icing (as opposed to buttercreme or the whipped creme kind). I made a big discovery here...a box of confectioner sugar is 16oz, but that does not equate to 2cups in a box. There is more in there! So, mine came out too sweet and may be the pb. some of the others are having. One box is more the right amount for a typical sheet or double layer, of course more if you are using it for decorating also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMALOUONIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marion, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
This frosting is light, fluffy and delicious, and very easy to work with. After reading the other reviews I added the sugar 1 cup at a time until it was just the right sweetness for my taste, 6 cups was good for me. It did melt a bit in the mid day heat, so I had to decorate quickly and the refrigerate until serving time. I will use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States