Wedding Cake Frosting Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I needed a sturdier icing than what this recipe gave me the first time I made a batch so the second time I used 1 1/2 cups shortening and 1/2 a cup of butter instead and made sure to whip it 20 minutes (as recommended) using the paddle attachment to keep from whipping in too much air like I did the first time with the wire whip. Added the extract to the shortening and butter while mixing and ended up only using 5 cups of sugar (make sure to sift!) and did not add the milk. Came out perfect!! Very smooth and perfect for using with a heavy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Very good. I used 6 cups powdered sugar and 1/4 cup milk for my liking. It was delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winona, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Yelm, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
This was absolutely delicious! I used skim milk but was a little concerned that would make it a little too runny, but it turned out fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
I followed this recipe exactly and loved it. My non-cake eating husband loved it as well! I will used it always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I made this icing for a test cake that I made for my bridal shower on the weekend. I am going to be making my own wedding cake and wanted to test it out first. This icing was delicious and I made it as directed except that I used vanilla extract and not clear artificial vanilla extract. It just didn't come out very white, which is fine with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Image this frosting for a birthday cake and it was wonderful. It seems light and has a great flavor. Everyone had compliments for it and my husband said it tasted like what his mom made ( she is an amazing cook ). Will use it from now on. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Made this last weekend, it is fantastic! I made it exactly like it says, I mixed it for about 15 minutes and it was not greasy, it was lite and just sweet enough. My son said the best part of the cake was the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Overall an average recipe. The sugar needs to be cut way down and all tat butter and shortening make it very greasy unless you beat them together for a good 15-20 min as was said in previous posts. For all the trouble I don't see myself making this recipe again, I think I'll stick with cream cheese frostings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Candice
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
This is my go-to frosting for large quantities of cupcakes. I only used 3 cups of powdered sugar on these cupcakes and 3 tablespoons of whipping cream. With the very rich chocolate cake (Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake) is was perfect smooth and not too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This is the first icing that I tested out for an upcoming wedding cake that I'm baking in several weeks. It's absolutely delicious. Everyone who tried it loved it, I'm definitely going to use it for THE cake. I followed the recipe completely with no alterations and it turned out fine, it was also very simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Chef John's Cream Cheese Frosting

See how to make an easy cream cheese frosting.

Special Buttercream Frosting

Make this creamy frosting for your favorite cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States