We Be Jammin' Jamaican Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
What an incredible recipe! I made this for my mom this Mother's Day. She asked for banana bread, and I told her about this new recipe. She had most of the ingredients on hand, so I gave it a try! I had to substitute walnuts for the pecans, and I had to double the brown sugar and butter for the topping to make enough to cover both of the loaves. She was so impressed, as we all were! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I loved this recipe! For years I have been reluctant to try making banana nut bread and this was so easy! I love all things with a tropical touch and this had enough tang from the lime to really enhance the sweetness of rum. I made one loaf last night and my husband ate most of it, so I made another one this morning for work! It has been a hit so far! Will definatley do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2006
Absolutely Fantastic. The dough came out beautifully, it baked exceptionally well and tasted great. Wish I could've eaten more [being a diabetic type 2] but I enjoyed my small piece thoroughly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I too found the 375 too high of temp. and it really only makes 1 or 1 1/2 regular size loafs.Found the bread very good. I then thought why not pinapple and make it more like a pina colada bread, it was mine and my dad's favorite of the two. I then mixed the left over banana and the left over pinapple recipe and made what I called a Hawaiian bread. I will make all versions again. I used the regular coconut on the inside and the large flake on the topping it made for a nice appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
A new 5 star favorite! The flavor blend of banana, lime, coconut, pecan and rum is so delicious. I doubled the topping recipe, baked the bread in two loaf pans at 350 degrees, and my guests were delighted with it. One commented on how light the bread is - it's got a nice airy texture to it. The only other thing I'd change is to use real rum instead of flavored extract; the extract had an aroma that was way over the top and seemed artificial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
lovely bread; nice change of pace. I used whole wheat flour instead and just added heaping measurements of the leavening. I loved the lime essence; it gave a really nice level of flavor to the bread. I had a few slices of fresh pineapple that I wanted to use up so I chopped it up and threw it in. Very moist bread. I am thankful for the advise of others and baked at 350degrees. This made 4 mini-loaves. I was a bit too lazy to do the topping, so I just cinnamon/sugared the greased bread tins before placing the batter in. It made for a nice taste and texture to the bread. Look forward to trying this with the brown sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This is a really nice change from traditional banana bread but I have a couple of comments. As written it makes one 9 x 5 loaf (not two). Also, I recommend baking at 350 degrees. At 375 it got too brown and the baking time was too long. I pulled out of the oven after 50 minutes when I noticed how brown it was and it probably would have been better if I'd caught it 5 minutes earlier. Next time I'll bake it at 350 and watch it close towards the end. I didn't bother to toast the pecans and I don't think it made much of a difference and it was easier. I will definitely make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
flavor was excellent, a nice change from the classic banana bread. i overbaked mine a little so it didn't turn out very moist, but i'm going to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
A very yummy bread! I added about 8 fresh cherries to mine---a really nice addition I thought! But all in all, a very good banana bread! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I think this bread is very good. However, my husband doesn't like it, so I think it's a matter of preference. This is the same recipe that appeared in Cooking Light magazine several years ago. I have also swapped the butter and cream cheese for a good old stick of butter, and it's good. I crave this bread from time to time, especially in the summer when I need something lighter tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States