We Be Jammin' Jamaican Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
It was good, but I won't make it again. Here are things I would recommend for someone making this: It makes *one* loaf. I would use 350 degree oven as it was near burning after 50 minutes. The topping is good, but falls off when you cut the cake. I would recommend stirring the coconut and pecans from the topping into the batter itself, then preparing the glaze part of the topping only. Skewer the cake before you apply the glaze so it sinks in. This way you still have all the "jamaican" elements, and the glaze really is quite tasty. The cake itself was moist and had a nice texture, so I may refer to this idea of using cream cheese in the future on other banana bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This is a really nice change from traditional banana bread but I have a couple of comments. As written it makes one 9 x 5 loaf (not two). Also, I recommend baking at 350 degrees. At 375 it got too brown and the baking time was too long. I pulled out of the oven after 50 minutes when I noticed how brown it was and it probably would have been better if I'd caught it 5 minutes earlier. Next time I'll bake it at 350 and watch it close towards the end. I didn't bother to toast the pecans and I don't think it made much of a difference and it was easier. I will definitely make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 14, 2006
What an incredible recipe! I made this for my mom this Mother's Day. She asked for banana bread, and I told her about this new recipe. She had most of the ingredients on hand, so I gave it a try! I had to substitute walnuts for the pecans, and I had to double the brown sugar and butter for the topping to make enough to cover both of the loaves. She was so impressed, as we all were! Thanks so much for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I too found the 375 too high of temp. and it really only makes 1 or 1 1/2 regular size loafs.Found the bread very good. I then thought why not pinapple and make it more like a pina colada bread, it was mine and my dad's favorite of the two. I then mixed the left over banana and the left over pinapple recipe and made what I called a Hawaiian bread. I will make all versions again. I used the regular coconut on the inside and the large flake on the topping it made for a nice appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
With all of the extra ingredients - coconut, lime, and rum - I expected this to taste totally different than regular banana bread, but it didn't. The glaze was good, but I agree with another reviewer that the nuts and coconut could be left out of the glaze and to poke lots of holes in the top to allow it to penetrate the bread. Overall, it was good, but not as exciting as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Really nice flavor ~ pressed the topping in to cake before baking. Topping stuck to the top and was really crunchy. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe for banana bread with pineapple was good but i would recommend adding more banana for a liitle more flavor, i added one more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbgardea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I'd give it 5, but I hate bananas! It's easy. Has a different twist and I used a chop stick to poke holes in the top for the glaze to absorb. I didn't eat it, but since it disappeared, I'd say it rocked. I lowered the temp to 350 and added about 15 min to the baking time and it was perfection. Turn it out on foil so you can glaze and wrap it to go. This loaf rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Absolutely astounding banana bread -- by far the BEST on this site! The combination of flavors is perfection, and the bread comes out light and moist. This banana bread makes other recipes seem like they didn't quite get the concept of banana bread. It has spoiled us for anything less! Make this and you won't be disappointed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This is FANTASTIC!!!! I added a little more rum and lime zest/juice and skipped the vanilla. I let the topping ( sauce ) cool a bit to thicken and poked lots of hole in my 4 mini loaves. You'll need a extra napkin - it is a bit sticky. But everyone was asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Best Ever Banana Bread

See how to make moist, nutty banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States