We Be Jammin' Jamaican Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
Yum! This was very good. I brought it to work and everyone ate it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
this was ok. I love banana bread! the best part of this was the topping on the bread. i ended up cutting the top off and just eating that. probably won't make again, i'll just make my regular banana bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
I agree with one of the other reviews - just another banana bread. It did have a light lime taste, but this bread was a LOT more work than regular banana bread so I probably won't bother to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNEY112

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waterloo, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2006
A diappointment. While there are a lot of yummy ingredients in this, it was still just banana bread. I took it to a church function and only 2 people even took a piece.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Peru, Indiana, USA
Living In: Humble, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
lovely bread; nice change of pace. I used whole wheat flour instead and just added heaping measurements of the leavening. I loved the lime essence; it gave a really nice level of flavor to the bread. I had a few slices of fresh pineapple that I wanted to use up so I chopped it up and threw it in. Very moist bread. I am thankful for the advise of others and baked at 350degrees. This made 4 mini-loaves. I was a bit too lazy to do the topping, so I just cinnamon/sugared the greased bread tins before placing the batter in. It made for a nice taste and texture to the bread. Look forward to trying this with the brown sugar topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
A new 5 star favorite! The flavor blend of banana, lime, coconut, pecan and rum is so delicious. I doubled the topping recipe, baked the bread in two loaf pans at 350 degrees, and my guests were delighted with it. One commented on how light the bread is - it's got a nice airy texture to it. The only other thing I'd change is to use real rum instead of flavored extract; the extract had an aroma that was way over the top and seemed artificial.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I too found the 375 too high of temp. and it really only makes 1 or 1 1/2 regular size loafs.Found the bread very good. I then thought why not pinapple and make it more like a pina colada bread, it was mine and my dad's favorite of the two. I then mixed the left over banana and the left over pinapple recipe and made what I called a Hawaiian bread. I will make all versions again. I used the regular coconut on the inside and the large flake on the topping it made for a nice appearance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I found a 375 oven too hot, as the edges are quite brown, next time I will turn it down to 350. I also used one pan. Loved the taste and will make it again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: May 23, 2006
This is a really nice change from traditional banana bread but I have a couple of comments. As written it makes one 9 x 5 loaf (not two). Also, I recommend baking at 350 degrees. At 375 it got too brown and the baking time was too long. I pulled out of the oven after 50 minutes when I noticed how brown it was and it probably would have been better if I'd caught it 5 minutes earlier. Next time I'll bake it at 350 and watch it close towards the end. I didn't bother to toast the pecans and I don't think it made much of a difference and it was easier. I will definitely make again with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: May 20, 2006
We enjoyed the flavors in this recipe very much, and agree that it is a kicked-up version worthy of keeping in the recipe box! We were curious as to why it was specified to be a two-loaf recipe, however. That's the way I baked it, but the topping wasn't enough for two loaves, and the loaves were less than half the height of the loaf pans. It was definitely delicious and worth the extra bit of work. I will make it again ... in one pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States