We Be Jammin' Jamaican Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
I really like the unique flavor of this bread! It is exotic yet familiar. I have made this several times and have always gotten rave reviews. I also had to turn down the temperature while baking. 350 degrees is always best for me when baking breads. Otherwise I like it just as it is. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Havana, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
Loving this recipe!!! A big hit with the co-workers and the DH.. Made as written but added macadamia nuts with the pecans and gave everyone pineapple juice to drink to make it that much more Jamaicanish, YA mon:) oh the Jamaican honeymoon memories **blushes** LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NurseApril

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
This is FANTASTIC!!!! I added a little more rum and lime zest/juice and skipped the vanilla. I let the topping ( sauce ) cool a bit to thicken and poked lots of hole in my 4 mini loaves. You'll need a extra napkin - it is a bit sticky. But everyone was asking for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2007
With all of the extra ingredients - coconut, lime, and rum - I expected this to taste totally different than regular banana bread, but it didn't. The glaze was good, but I agree with another reviewer that the nuts and coconut could be left out of the glaze and to poke lots of holes in the top to allow it to penetrate the bread. Overall, it was good, but not as exciting as I had hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2007
Amazing! Moist and supremely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I think this bread is very good. However, my husband doesn't like it, so I think it's a matter of preference. This is the same recipe that appeared in Cooking Light magazine several years ago. I have also swapped the butter and cream cheese for a good old stick of butter, and it's good. I crave this bread from time to time, especially in the summer when I need something lighter tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2006
flavor was excellent, a nice change from the classic banana bread. i overbaked mine a little so it didn't turn out very moist, but i'm going to try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
This was a regular banana bread and not that exceptional with all these good ingredients. It took too much time to get this average tasting cake and i dont think i will do it again. If baking you have to bake at 350 it burns quickly at 375, it also makes one bread not two. It also lacked the most essential ingredients for a banana bread. Cinamon and Nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2006
A very yummy bread! I added about 8 fresh cherries to mine---a really nice addition I thought! But all in all, a very good banana bread! Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tanaquil

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
It was good, but I won't make it again. Here are things I would recommend for someone making this: It makes *one* loaf. I would use 350 degree oven as it was near burning after 50 minutes. The topping is good, but falls off when you cut the cake. I would recommend stirring the coconut and pecans from the topping into the batter itself, then preparing the glaze part of the topping only. Skewer the cake before you apply the glaze so it sinks in. This way you still have all the "jamaican" elements, and the glaze really is quite tasty. The cake itself was moist and had a nice texture, so I may refer to this idea of using cream cheese in the future on other banana bread recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States