We Be Jammin' Jamaican Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Yes - I agree with another rater - this is the recipe from Cooking Light magazine. (It would be wise for people not to claim recipes as their own when they are in fact from other sources - my husband turns his students in for plagiarism all the time at the univeristy where he teaches). With that said - I have been trying to find this recipe for years on the Cooking Light website and they don't have it on there - so I am delighted to find it here! I do love this twist on traditional banana bread. I gave only three stars because of the plagiarism - it is a four star recipe, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
Really nice flavor ~ pressed the topping in to cake before baking. Topping stuck to the top and was really crunchy. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MPH Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cobourg, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
This recipe for banana bread with pineapple was good but i would recommend adding more banana for a liitle more flavor, i added one more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lbgardea

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Santa Ana, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroe, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
I really thought that with the rum and lime, this was going to be an amazing banana bread. It was just o.k. The flavours were more pronounced the second day. The topping was really good. I think that this would have been better if it was baked in a cake pan and then double the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
This is pretty good. I opted not to make the topping, so I added more rum and coconut to the batter itself. I concur with others who believe this should be baked at 350 for an hour; it was done perfectly at that time and temperature. This is a good use of leftover overripe bananas. I can taste a bit of the rum, perhaps because I added a tablespoon or two more, and the coconut is a nice addition. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I'd give it 5, but I hate bananas! It's easy. Has a different twist and I used a chop stick to poke holes in the top for the glaze to absorb. I didn't eat it, but since it disappeared, I'd say it rocked. I lowered the temp to 350 and added about 15 min to the baking time and it was perfection. Turn it out on foil so you can glaze and wrap it to go. This loaf rocks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNNI_ONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I NEVER LIKED BANANA BREAD. I HAD ALWAYS BEEN SERVED A HEAVY GOOEY PASTY BREAD. A FRIEND JUST GOT HOME FROM THE HOSPITAL AND A NEIGHBOR HAD A LOAF OF THIS. i FELL IN LOVE. iT WAS NOTHING LIKE ANY OF THOSE BAD LOAVES. I JUST SAID WOW! YOU WILL TOO!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2010
I'm sorry to say this was not worth the effort or ingredients. The rum, lime and coconut did not go well with the bananas. The texture was weird I think due to the fact it is low fat. It was a waste of good ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
Packed with flavor! I did need to alter the recipe. I used vanilla yogurt for the cream cheese, molasses for the rum, and omitted the zest, but added fresh dark cherry chunks. It's super moist and the coconut makes this recipe special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States