We Be Jammin' Jamaican Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
Added one additional banana, decreased sugar to 3/4c. Half c of the 2c flour was whole wheat (reasoning: fiber, firmup loaf due to extra banana, didn't want to open a new bag of flour. True!) 1pt extract per 2pts real deal.I used extract,but no vanilla. It would lessen the intensity of the coconut - & I'm in love with vanilla. I added the 1/4c topping coconut to the batter. Topping: 2Tbutter, 2t lime juice, 1t rum extract, 1/4c brown sugar.' Waited5. Poked&poured. Waited5. Removed. Good, but I think without the coconut & lime, I'd like better. The lime is barely, if at all, detectable - & I used fresh. One 9x5 loaf@350, 45 min. A very good recipe - without considering how lowfat it is. Lowfat is a bonus! Try this one sometime, Lindsay! :) ... Okay, okay, this bread is delicious! I will make it again & just leave out the lime & coconut. So good. Later: I will also bake longer. While it was done, it would've been better ten minutes or so later - a medium brown top, not just cracked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Made the recipe as written; it was a lot of work & tasted ok. I felt like it needed something else to make the flavors stand out, maybe crushed pineapple?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
This really sounded like a yummy different bread, but the flavors just weren't there. I didn't make the topping, but most people didn't even know this was banana bread. I cut the recipe back to make one loaf and the listed bake time too long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
VERY GOOD! I made this when we were going to visit a friend in Orlando. It was done by the end of the day. A must make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
This bread was awesome! A little cakey and very moist. It rose high, so don't fill the pans too much. I used mini loaf pans, and they almost overflowed when baking. I had to make a couple changes because of what I had on hand; I used sourcream instead of cream cheese and lemon instead of lime. I doubled the amount of nuts and coconut. I didn't want a sticky glaze, so I just made a simple butter/brown sugar topping, and it was perfect. I wish I had this recipe last year--I would have given it away with the small bottles of Jamaican rum we brought back from our honeymoon in Jamaica last year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
The other reviews were correct, this was one loaf of bread. But a great loaf it was!! I didn't make the topping as there is a diabetic in my family and I didn't know if that would be too much to spike sugar levels. WHAT I DID: I eliminated the coconut and pecans, as none of my family eats them because of taste and allergies. I didn't measure the banana, I had like 5 large bananas I had in the fridge for probably 8-10 days just for this recipe and they were definitely "overripe", I used 3 of them and froze the other 2 for the next time I make the recipe. I didn't make the topping as I stated this is a bread and it really didn't need anything else. VERDICT: This was moist and flavorful, I will definitely be making this again. The only drawback is that you smell the liquor (or flavoring) , which could be a turn off for some). Thanks B. Painter for the recipe. Sorry I couldn't make it as written and give it 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AndAQT2

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
We had a Jamaican themed mother's day so I thought this would go well as the dessert, it was amazing! I did follow the advice of other reviewers and brought the baking time down a bit so that loaf wouldn't burn. The batter fit one loaf pan not two like stated. But it was wonderful! The glaze that is poured on top made the bread so delicious and all of the flavors were very tropical and refreshing. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
This is very good banana bread. Moist and flavourful. With it having all the extra "Jamaican" ingredients in it, I expected it to taste a lot different that my regular banana bread, but it didn't. The glaze wasn't for me, it found it just sticky and sweet, but others liked that addition. It only makes 1 loaf-not 2, bake it at 350 and it still didn't take an hour to bake as the recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
I still haven't made it exactely according to the recipe, but I've tried 3 different variations of it depending on what ingredients were on hand, and they all rocked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fadano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2011
Yes - I agree with another rater - this is the recipe from Cooking Light magazine. (It would be wise for people not to claim recipes as their own when they are in fact from other sources - my husband turns his students in for plagiarism all the time at the univeristy where he teaches). With that said - I have been trying to find this recipe for years on the Cooking Light website and they don't have it on there - so I am delighted to find it here! I do love this twist on traditional banana bread. I gave only three stars because of the plagiarism - it is a four star recipe, though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Grain Free Banana Bread

Discover the secret ingredient to a gluten- and grain-free banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States