Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Outstanding as is, but silly me, I put 3 habeneros in, because "some like it hot"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rocheport, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Great Chili! I used Miller Chill beer (with lime)...'cause gotta have one for the pot and one for me... Of course, the best way to top this off is with shredded Cougar Gold Cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Oswego, Oregon, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This recipe was the best chili I have made in years. I followed it exactly and was very happy with the level of flavor and spice. Surprisingly not too hot!!! Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by RR Sands
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
I like medium-hot chili while my family prefers milder. So, I added a red and yellow bell pepper, took out the Habanero and fresh Jalapenos and replace those with 4 oz. of canned jalapenos. Rather than the 3 cans of chili beans, I used 1 chili beans, 1 kidney beans, and 1 black beans. Lastly, I also doubled the tomatoe sauce. This resulted in an medium-hot, hearty, chili that when served over rice was excellent and whole family enjoyed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RR Sands

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Venice Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
Fabulous recipe. Made it for SuperBowl Sunday and everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
This is our new family favorite chili recipe! I've made it a couple of times and thought the beer taste would be too strong for the kids, but it was fine and they loved it! I used red and green peppers instead and went a little easy on the chili powder and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
loved this recipe. I made a few changes. I used ground turkey instead and mixed all the spices into the meat before I cooked it. I then added the onions and veggies and liquid and then simmered for two hours. I left out the habanero because my hubby thinks they are too hot but the taste was still incredible. Even my son said this is the best chili. He loves chili. I will make this from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
This is very good chili. I was worried about the spiciness of the chili so I subbed a Serano pepper for the Habanero. It made a very mild chili that even me and my daughter could eat. I will make this again, next time I'm going to be brave and try it with a Habanero!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This chili was excellent! I was concerned about the spiciness of it as well, so I skipped the habenero and jalapenos and it turned out just right for me. I also used ground turkey for a healthy substitute instead of beef. I loved this chili and, most importantly, my husband likes it more than his mother's chili. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This stuff is awesome! I made it for a big family party, and my dad asked for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States