Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have made this several times. I like it hot so the recipe is fine for me. Everyone else likes it milder, so I left out the habanero. I also like chunks of beef so I added a half pound of 1 inch cubed round steak. and last a can of chili beans drained. We like elbow macaroni (the small ones) so I added a half cup, cooked and added at the end, so I can control how much. We will have this for Super Bowl weekend this year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebarker2
Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We LOVED this chili recipe! My hubby adores chili and I like to try new recipes each time I make it; this is a definite winner. I eliminated the habañero and cayenne because I was cooking for my kids too, and the spice level with the jalapeño and chili powder was just enough for us. I liked the robust, rounded flavor and it was a very warming winter dish. I also eliminated the water, since we like our chili thicker. I did not add salt, since canned beans tend to be very salty also. Thanks for a great recipe--oh, yeah: I browned the meats and then just threw everything into the crock pot for the day--PERFECT and EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Have to give this a 5! Didn't change much at all except used ground turkey and ground chicken sausage and no habeneros. My family loved it and it had pleny of kick even for me who likes stuff spicy (I did add jalapenos per recipe). Was delish after a few hours and the next day! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Favorite chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a medium chili, not too hot. I entered this in a contest, got great compliments, but didn't win. My chili was not sitting at a good spot anyways. But it is still a great recipe. I think to win I would cut down on the beer, and maybe add more meat, like bacon. I also made the mistake of not adding the habanero, adding another pepper instead, thinking it would be too hot for people's taste buds. The winning chili was more meaty, and a little hotter. I guess most people like meaty and hot chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This chili is awesome1 I would recommend it to those who like spicy dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Easy to make and tastes great. Took this to a chili pot luck and got lots of compliments. I toned down the spice by replacing the Haberneros with less intesne chili peppers at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Plummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fabulously flavorful! =) I have been home for 2 days cooking my heart away to get through Hurricane Sandy. Thankfully no loss of power! For this recipe I skipped the habanero and only used 1 jalapeno & a 1/4 tsp of Cayenne Pepper as I'm not into too much "heat". Used 3/4's green pepper and 3/4's red pepper and also used light red kidney beans, dark red kidney beans and Canneloni beans to add color to the recipe. I also threw in 4 tablespoons of the Speedy Salsa recipe from this website that I made yesterday. Totally delicious! Excellent the first day and even better the next day after the flavors have congealed. Great recipe~ Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
GREAT flavor and heat. Love the addition of the beer. I would advise "heat-phobic" folks to look at the recipe. Heat comes in several different places: habaneros, cayenne pepper, chili powder. If you don't like it so spicy, sub a milder chili for the habaneros, like a jalapeno. I also used a black IPA (I like the stronger beers). Was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Best Chili I have EVER made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

My Chili

Basic chili recipe with beef, tomatoes and kidney beans.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States