Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Fabulously flavorful! =) I have been home for 2 days cooking my heart away to get through Hurricane Sandy. Thankfully no loss of power! For this recipe I skipped the habanero and only used 1 jalapeno & a 1/4 tsp of Cayenne Pepper as I'm not into too much "heat". Used 3/4's green pepper and 3/4's red pepper and also used light red kidney beans, dark red kidney beans and Canneloni beans to add color to the recipe. I also threw in 4 tablespoons of the Speedy Salsa recipe from this website that I made yesterday. Totally delicious! Excellent the first day and even better the next day after the flavors have congealed. Great recipe~ Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
GREAT flavor and heat. Love the addition of the beer. I would advise "heat-phobic" folks to look at the recipe. Heat comes in several different places: habaneros, cayenne pepper, chili powder. If you don't like it so spicy, sub a milder chili for the habaneros, like a jalapeno. I also used a black IPA (I like the stronger beers). Was GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Auburn, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Best Chili I have EVER made
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2012
I make this chili often. After trying many different recipes this won out. Excellent. I wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Very good. I goofed and used hot It sausage instead of ground pork. Did not have habanero peppers so I used 3 jalapeno. Forgot the corn meal and used extra chilli powder. Boy was this spicy! We really liked it. Will make again for a dish to pass at a clambake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencerport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
I thought this chili was okay. I did change it up a bit. I made it vegetarian and left out the hot peppers. I basically kept everything else the same. What I really didn't care for, though, was the cornmeal in the chili. Even though, I let it simmer it still affected the texture and slightly the taste of the chili. I have put masa in S. American soups, and it worked. However, the cornmeal here was just really different and off to me. It was a little soupy also, but I assume that was from leaving out the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I didn't have tomato paste on hand, so I used two boxes of Pomi - one chopped tomatoes and the other strained. I used all ground beef. I wanted to keep the heat down so I used a small can of green chiles, diced, instead of the habanero/jalapeno. The seasoning mix is spot-on. This was really good, a hit with the entire family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel Hill, Florida, USA
Living In: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2012
Turned out great and everyone loved it, would have given it 5 stars but couldn't since I'm a Husky fan, lol!!!!! Go Dawgs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2012
I make this chili in the crock pot. I sautee onions and garlic in a pan then throw it in with the rest of the ingredients. Once the onions are in, I use the same pan to brown the meat. Then I just toss the meat in the crock pot with everything else and leave it on low or high. It doesn't matter. I can tell when it is done. The longer it is cooked, the better. Just don't leave it on high for over 8 hours without checking it. It might be fine if you did leave it that long but I have never tried it. This is the only chili I make. It was the first recipe I have tried out. I don't want to make another. I actually joined allrecipes just so I could review and rate this Chili even though it already has 5 stars. We eat it straight with some sour cream, onion and cheese on top until we get sick of it. The next couple of days we make noodles for chili mac. It is great with or without noodles. Noodles may be a good idea for those reviewers I have read commenting that this recipe was too spicy. Lots of noodles and sour cream can help a chili that's a little too spicy. Enjoy!!! I hope everyone that stops by tries it out! It is worth it. The way to a man's heart is through his stomach. (This follows for ladies too- so feed your woman!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyckoff, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Arlington, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States