Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Nantru
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
This is a good chili recipe. One of my top 3 favorites, for sure. Has a hint of sweetness possibly from the beer. Really is better the second day. I like to top mine with shredded cheese, diced onions and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nantru

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
Followed the recipe except I left out the pork. The seasoning was perfect for me - spicy without being too mild or or overwhelming - just right with great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe several times, and it's hands down the best chili I've ever had. I make it exactly as the recipe is written, no need to change anything. I've thrown in an extra jalapeno and habanero or two to kick up the heat. Either way, it's awesome stuff!My buddies have asked for the recipe and they make it and love it as well. GO FOR IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fleetwood, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leesport, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I have made this several times. I like it hot so the recipe is fine for me. Everyone else likes it milder, so I left out the habanero. I also like chunks of beef so I added a half pound of 1 inch cubed round steak. and last a can of chili beans drained. We like elbow macaroni (the small ones) so I added a half cup, cooked and added at the end, so I can control how much. We will have this for Super Bowl weekend this year
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ebarker2
Home Town: Wales, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
We LOVED this chili recipe! My hubby adores chili and I like to try new recipes each time I make it; this is a definite winner. I eliminated the habañero and cayenne because I was cooking for my kids too, and the spice level with the jalapeño and chili powder was just enough for us. I liked the robust, rounded flavor and it was a very warming winter dish. I also eliminated the water, since we like our chili thicker. I did not add salt, since canned beans tend to be very salty also. Thanks for a great recipe--oh, yeah: I browned the meats and then just threw everything into the crock pot for the day--PERFECT and EASY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
Have to give this a 5! Didn't change much at all except used ground turkey and ground chicken sausage and no habeneros. My family loved it and it had pleny of kick even for me who likes stuff spicy (I did add jalapenos per recipe). Was delish after a few hours and the next day! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Favorite chili recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
This is a medium chili, not too hot. I entered this in a contest, got great compliments, but didn't win. My chili was not sitting at a good spot anyways. But it is still a great recipe. I think to win I would cut down on the beer, and maybe add more meat, like bacon. I also made the mistake of not adding the habanero, adding another pepper instead, thinking it would be too hot for people's taste buds. The winning chili was more meaty, and a little hotter. I guess most people like meaty and hot chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This chili is awesome1 I would recommend it to those who like spicy dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Easy to make and tastes great. Took this to a chili pot luck and got lots of compliments. I toned down the spice by replacing the Haberneros with less intesne chili peppers at the grocery store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Plummer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States