Wazzu Tailgate Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
A cool fall day, football on tv, my husband's birthday, and lots of family and friends coming over : what else to make but chili? This recipe earned me so many compliments-- and the best one of all was there was not a drop left in either crock pots. I times 4 ed this recipe, and instead of 4 lbs of hamburger put in 5 cause I like beef in chili, and instead of regular ground pork, I used 2 1/2 lbs of spicy Italian sausage. Also, I love beans and used a variety: chilibeans, black beans, dark and light and white kidney beans. And having never used habenero peppers before, when my husband told me they were so hot they would "change my life for half an hour" I opted for fresh jalapeño. Since I was times 4ing I used just four finely diced. I did think this chili was pretty labor intensive-- I was cutting 4 large onions for half an hour alone! I cooked on the stove and for serving purposes transferred to crock pots the next day. The chili had a lovely, lingering heat to it. It served over 20 and people were all getting seconds. The little ones said it was too hot but it was a hit. Delicious chili, fantastic recipe! I'm glad that I snuck a little pot for my husband and I to have leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This is my go-to chili recipe. It's easy to adjust the heat to your liking. When I cook this for my family, I usually use ground turkey instead of ground pork to cut down on fat. Otherwise, I follow the recipe and it turns out great everytime!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2013
We had a bunch of home-grown peppers from a neighbor, so I can't guarantee that I used the peppers that the recipe calls for, but this was a really great chili nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by trump29

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Great tasting chili. My family isn't into real hot spicy things so I only used half a habanero and one jalapena and about half the cayenne pepper. The pork and beef mixture was just right for this recipe and the beer left a hint of a taste. The family loved it and it's now in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Manchester, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Delish! Made this for a family get together and everyone loved it. It was so good I have to make it again today for my daughter's b-day party. I didn't use a habanero but added an extra jalapeno and extra cayenne. Flavor was excellent and wasn't too hot. I put hot sauce on the side in case someone wanted to spice theirs up a bit. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
Tasty chili! Followed the recipe. Great on a cold PNW Winter day. GO COUGS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpea204

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
You know, I don’t really like chili. I’ve always had to make it, however, because Hubs and my kids liked it. In fact my grown son, a fine cook in his own right, still says I make the best chili (go figure, I don’t like chili and I never taste when I cook). That said, this is some of the best chili I don’t like that I’ve ever eaten! Ok, I changed it up, but I only did so in a big way with the heat factor, cutting back drastically on all things hot because of Hubs’ sensitive innards – but the truth is I don’t enjoy food that makes my throat and lips burn either. So that meant no cayenne or habanero, and just a teensy bit of jalapeno. I guess it was essentially “sissy chili” but we loved it. While I cut back on the heat I increased the beer! I made half a recipe, which meant I only needed half a beer. I don’t like beer so I wasn’t about to drink it but I didn’t want it to go to waste either, so it all went in the pot! I used all beef, no pork, and adjusted the tomatoes, sauce, paste and water to get the consistency I wanted. I also threw in a can of kidney beans. Except for the beer and the cornmeal, this isn’t vastly different from how I make my chili, but then I don’t “simmer at least two hours” and “refrigerate overnight” before I serve it. I can’t put my finger on what it is exactly, but this chili really comes together like no other – not too hot, tomato-y or chili powder-y, just a perfect chili with lots of body and character. (COULD it be the beer?)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Simply the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Our favorite! We're not super huge bell pepper fans so we skipped that, and instead of the super spicy habanero we used serrano. With the chili beans we used 1 hot and 2 mild, and instead of tomato paste and water we just used a second can of sauce.. since it's the same thing.. Other than that we stuck to the recipe, and it's always amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Cooking Couple

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Valdosta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Boilermaker Tailgate Chili

This chili satisfies any time of year. Make it the night before. Ready? Go team!

Easy Turkey Chili

Watch how to make a simple recipe for delicious turkey chili.

Chef John's Italian Sausage Chili

Put a tasty Italian twist on traditional American chili con carne.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States