Wave Your Flag Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
After yesterday's cookout, I've been asked to make this cake again. Will do. Even my boyfriend, who's not fond of anything too sweet, loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owosso, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
I made this cake yesterday...it was a hit! My 6 year old son just couldn't get enough! It was nice having a patriotic cake to serve on the 4th. My kids enjoyed helping make it. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was a very easy, light recipe. Went over very well at our 4th of July cookout. All my guests loved the cake, however, I personally would've preferred doing a jello-poke-cake instead. I like the idea of the jello being incorporated into the cake rather than forming a different layer on top of it. The textures didn't appeal to me as well seperated. Again, very easy and received well by guests.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nickyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moline, Illinois, USA
Living In: Jefferson, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
Made this for a 4th of July BBQ. Looked great, but tasted just OK. Nothing spectacular and the pound cake seemed to dry out. Next year will look for a different patriotic dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This recipe is good except that next time I would use 2 containers of cool whip or better yet real whip cream. Its very light for a hot summer day in Arizona.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
I made this for our fourth of July get together with my in-laws. It was a big hit. Not only was the taste delicious, but the presentation was delightful. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dubs
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
YUM! I made this today for our July 4th BBQ and it was a hit :) I sliced up the extra large strawberries for the jello, and saved the smaller strawberries (that are closer in size) for the topping, so the stripes were more uniform in size. Great dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I loved this recipe. I tweaked the jello a bit though. After I added the 1 1/2 cups of hot water to wild strawberry gelatin, I substituted the cold water for 10 ounces of stoli strawberry vodka, and the remaining 6 ounces was ice. Leave the gelatin in the fridge for approximately 10 minutes instead of 5 because the alcohol slows the setting process a bit. This was absolutely delicious. Great 4'th of july cake with a bit of a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
I liked the cake, a lot! I made this yesterday for the Wednesday night service at my church. We celebrated the fourth of July two days early and the cake was great. Everyone who ate it had seconds and some had thirds. Like I said, I liked it, but it seems to me their could be another substitute for the jell-o because some of the people there did not eat it because of the jell-o...any who, great cake, great recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Kannapolis, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
Extremely delicious and fluffy! I've never tasted anything like it! I plan to make this more often, even if its not the fourth of July or Presidents Week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Cranberry-Apple Pilgrim Pie

This pilgrim pie is delicious and super-easy to make.

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States