Wave Your Flag Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2008
Great recipe..I agree you cant go wrong with Jello & cool whip! My only change to this cake is to sometimes use cake! I use any kind of white, lemon, or even pound cake. You can 'frost' the top with cool whip then add the berries or as I do, making the cake into 2 layers, putting a down 1 cake layer, adding thin layer of cool whip then berries, then the 2nd cake layer; this time arranging the berries over the cool whip as the USA flag :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
OH MY GOODNESS!!! I made this recipe when Cool Whip came out with it when I was a little girl, with my Mother's assistance, of course. This is very simple and tasty. Great for kids to make with grown-up help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln Park, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
I made a french vanilla cake with fresh whipped creme and decorated it like this. Great idea and perfect for memorial day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffin Mom N Garlic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palmerton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Melbourne, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Since we were having a July 4th party this year, I decided to try this, and it was great - everyone at the party loved it, and most had seconds. Personally, I wasn't sure about the jello mixing with the cake (I thought it made the pound cake too mushy, but no one else seemed to mind), so next time I may leave out the cake, or I'll let the jello harden more before I layer it in (or maybe mix the jello with some cool whip and layer that). Overall, a big hit, and very festive and pretty - will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
My workplace had a Memorial Day lunch yesterday and we all contributed a dish...this was what I chose to make and bring. I did use an extra deep 9x13 pan which required more jello. (I used an additional 4 serving sized box). I used sugar free jello, and extra creamy Cool Whip. I GOT RAVE REVIEWS and more than one request for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEINGRAMS4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newark, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This was awesome...the kids loved it (jello + cool whip...duh) Great test for upcoming patriotic holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Huge

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronxville, New York, USA
Living In: Snoqualmie, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Very simple, fun, & festive! I brought this cake to a Labor Day party & it was a huge hit... there was almost none left. I did use the sliced pound cake but next time I'd like to try cutting out some of the unneccessary calories (using a white cake mix - though that wouldn't save any time -, Sugar Free Jello, and Light Cool Whip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
I used this recipe a few years ago. I will use it for this Fourth of July too. It's now a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blair

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cameron, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
I've been making this cake for a couple of years for different occasions and keep forgetting to give a review. Anyway, love it, love it, live it!!! Sometimes I use sugar free whipped cream and fat free cream cheese to make it lighter for those who is on diet, everyone loves it and no left overs ever. Thank you very much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
We really enjoyed this at 4th of July! Yummy and beautiful at the same time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chocolate-Caramel Turtle Torte

See how to make a rich chocolate cake with luscious caramel filling.

Cranberry-Apple Pilgrim Pie

This pilgrim pie is delicious and super-easy to make.

Hot Cocoa Pudding Mugs

See how to make adorable, edible chocolate pudding mugs!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States