Watermelon Summer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is absolutely delicious! I used kalamata olives, which were great. I also soaked the onions for about 30 minutes--I don't normally like raw onions but they were great. And the mint is critical--I considered leaving it out, but ended up making a special trip to the store to get it, and I'm glad I did because it made all the difference. Try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
We were served a salad similar to this at a dinner party my friend gave. I saw it and thought, "How strange!" Then, after trying it I thought it was aweome. Fresh, salty, sweet and tangy all at once. I wanted to reproduce the salad, found this recipie, and it's very close! The only alteration I made was to cut back on the amount of mint. I used 1/4 c. flat leaf parsley and about 10 mint leaves. Many guests have been surprised and delighted by this salad at our summer dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This was wonderfull, and gorgeous! Odd, but terrific! I used kalamata olives, sprinkled a little bit of balsamic vinegar over it...just a smidge, and used cilantro instead of mint (I just don't like mint unless in't in a julep). I know this will be a hard sell at my nexy party, but I will make people taste it and I know they will be floored by the flavours. It's a sweet, salty, tangy sensation. The perfect PMS salad! It fulfills all flavor craving at once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSBHAVENS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This tasted as good as it looked! I didn't have fresh mint on hand, so I used some dried spearmint, and that gave it a spiffy cool note. My husband really liked it too, even the olives (which he never eats)...one caveat, though, if you use kalamata olives, try to get ones that are packed with very little oil (brine is best), as the one's I had on hand were packed with vinegar and oil, and made the salad a little oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2007
Oh my! What a great combination. I did use Kalamata olives, which I am glad I did, and I cut down on the fresh mint (per everyone's advice) and this was a winner! A real surprise. I was leary of trying it, but what the heck! I liked every ingredient, so altogether they meld and make a wonderful, interesting salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Followed the recipe exactly, and two of us devoured every bit of this salad as a sidedish for dinner, and as leftovers for lunch the next day. Perfect for hot weather, and I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I havn't made this recipe exactly, but this is what we would have for dinner on a hot and muggy evening. This is a typical middle eastern thing. However, we don't serve it as a salad with dressing. Just cut up some watermelon and have some good feta cheese and some good black olives on the side. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I just had myself a fabulous summer lunch! I made this salad and sat down with a glass of wine - DELICIOUS! They're right... the flavours of the ingredients combine beautifully to make a wonderful taste sensation. (I didn't have fresh mint, so I used a little dried mint) I will buy some fresh mint, and I am making this for my dinner guests next week. I will FORCE them to try it! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Loved the combination. It might not be for everyone, but was a great recipe for a mixture of tastes and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Friberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Give it a go and suprise everyone with this strange but tasty combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mayo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States