Watermelon Summer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2005
We were served a salad similar to this at a dinner party my friend gave. I saw it and thought, "How strange!" Then, after trying it I thought it was aweome. Fresh, salty, sweet and tangy all at once. I wanted to reproduce the salad, found this recipie, and it's very close! The only alteration I made was to cut back on the amount of mint. I used 1/4 c. flat leaf parsley and about 10 mint leaves. Many guests have been surprised and delighted by this salad at our summer dinner table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
Loved the combination. It might not be for everyone, but was a great recipe for a mixture of tastes and textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Friberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vermillion, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
This is absolutely delicious! I used kalamata olives, which were great. I also soaked the onions for about 30 minutes--I don't normally like raw onions but they were great. And the mint is critical--I considered leaving it out, but ended up making a special trip to the store to get it, and I'm glad I did because it made all the difference. Try this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
84 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2005
Followed the recipe exactly, and two of us devoured every bit of this salad as a sidedish for dinner, and as leftovers for lunch the next day. Perfect for hot weather, and I'll definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
I had all of the ingredients on hand so I thought "Why not?". What a surprise. This is a great refreshing salad. My wife loved it and we will not hesitate to serve to company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
This was just ok, I sort of liked it, but it was just too weird. The mint was really nice, but the olives and feta, I don't know, just didn't go over that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VALENZANO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Petaluma, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
I just had myself a fabulous summer lunch! I made this salad and sat down with a glass of wine - DELICIOUS! They're right... the flavours of the ingredients combine beautifully to make a wonderful taste sensation. (I didn't have fresh mint, so I used a little dried mint) I will buy some fresh mint, and I am making this for my dinner guests next week. I will FORCE them to try it! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
This was wonderfull, and gorgeous! Odd, but terrific! I used kalamata olives, sprinkled a little bit of balsamic vinegar over it...just a smidge, and used cilantro instead of mint (I just don't like mint unless in't in a julep). I know this will be a hard sell at my nexy party, but I will make people taste it and I know they will be floored by the flavours. It's a sweet, salty, tangy sensation. The perfect PMS salad! It fulfills all flavor craving at once!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSBHAVENS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2005
I havn't made this recipe exactly, but this is what we would have for dinner on a hot and muggy evening. This is a typical middle eastern thing. However, we don't serve it as a salad with dressing. Just cut up some watermelon and have some good feta cheese and some good black olives on the side. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
Give it a go and suprise everyone with this strange but tasty combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Mayo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Greek Pasta Salad I

This salad is bursting with bright colors and fresh, authentic flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States