Watermelon Summer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This turned out to be absolutely fabulous -- a great refresher for the summer heat! We served it with a lovely barbecue of ours, and it was a terrific side dish. For those wondering, no, it doesn't keep well -- so make sure you don't make too much. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Magpie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Michigan, USA
Living In: Callaway, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I just happend to have 1/2 of watermelon in fridge, soooo; since I had all of the other ingrediences on hand, except limes, I used Myer lemon, instead. WOW! What a great salad! It is so tasty, and I thought I wouldn't like it! It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
Yuk! The mint went soggy real fast, and the flavours were just not compatible. It just looked real "old" real fast....definately won't make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
This salad was a hit with my guests! The mixture of ingredients caught my attention as I am always looking for something dfferent. The mint was the key ingredient that brought the taste sensation together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Twin Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
Most people enjoyed this different salad. I didn't put the olives in because a lot of people don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Mechanicsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I really didn't like the texture and flavour of these ingredients combined. It's one that you will either love or hate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
These ingredients DO NOT "come together" at all, in my opinian. Time-consuming and expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2006
I liked this better than my husband. He just thought it was a weird combination. I left out the black olives and put too many onions in the mix with too few pieces of watermelon. It was refreshing but I think the combination is just too different for most people/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
I had a version of this salad 5 or 6 years ago, and had searched for a recipe at the time, but alas, there was none to be found here. Then I saw it made on a cooking show on tv recently, and went looking again, and low and behold - there was now a recipe! I make it without the olives since I hate olives, and I think it's great. The only thing is that I find it does not keep well, as it gets really watery the longer it sits - only make what you will eat, and prepare it as close to serving time as possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Words can not describe the great flavor this salad has going on...you'll just have to try it & see for yourself! Only changes I made were to halve it because I wasn't sure how well it would keep. I did cut back on the mint some & I used spearmint. I was fearful that wasn't the right flavor (I thought maybe peppermint would be best but my peppermint is currently having issues LOL) but after one taste I knew it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States