Watermelon Summer Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This was a nice mix of flavors and went great with a seafood lasagne I made. Next time I will try draining the watermelon in a colander before adding to the bowl. After the salty items (feta and olives) it drew lots of liquid from the melon. I'd like to try and eliminate some of that liquid before adding the olive oil, mint, and additional lime. Maybe even tossing with a light amount of before draining salt might help...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imacamper

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I would actually rate this unique recipe a 4 1/2 stars. You have to try it to believe it, but the combination of all the flavors is what makes this so incredible. I used vadalida onion and kalamata olives instead of black olives just because that's what we like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leazer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woxall, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
Made exactly as directed and found it to be a bit bland so we added some ground pepper and a diced and seeded jalpeno.Much improved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This was an easy and awesome salad. Everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. I let the onions sit in the lime juice for 20 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lapamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: East Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
I made this recipe for a cook out, it was a great, the contrast between the salty and the sweet was a real hit. The only thing I have to say is that it does not keep well so try to make it right before you serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Belchertown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Hoschton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
I thought I would really like it, since my parents used to eat watermelon with salt sprinkled on it. But it was just okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2008
I was a little afraid of the ingedients at first, but I'm alway's up for trying something new. I personally didn't like it much but my husband and guests raved about it and begged for the recipe. I'll make it for them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moody2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Love this! We're not mint lovers so we cut back on the mint. Next time, I'll probably just leave it out, but that's a personal preference. Others at our picnic loved it the way it was. A definite keeper. Will make often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
Absolutely the best cold salad. For my hubby who must have meat with everything, I topped his portion with fresh cooked bacon bits -- nice addition. I didn't have mint, but it still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
I love to bring this refreshing salad to group gatherings and picnics as everyone is surprised by the group of ingredients and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: Discovery Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Spinach and Pomegranate Salad

A quick and healthy spinach salad with pomegranate seeds and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States