Watermelon Sherbet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I was scared to try this for my daughters first birthday - a watermelon party - because of the lack of ratings. It was fabulous! I was afraid it would be too sweet, but I made it just as suggested and it came out perfect. It's more like sorbet or gelato than ice cream. Very refreshing! I gave the recipe to several people that requested it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
This is the first recipe I've felt compelled to review. It is wonderful! I doubled the recipe to use up a watermelon that was past it's prime. The whole family has really loved this. I made it without using an ice cream maker. I just poured the mixture into a metal bowl and popped it into the freezer. Every couple of hours I whisked it until it was an even texture. When it reached soft serve consistency, I put it into a a covered container and stored it back in the freezer. We'll use this recipe as a jumping pad for other fruit sorbets for sure. I'm envisioning pineapple-coconut, cantaloupe-mint, whatever happens to be in season! Thanks Terry Wilson for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
This sherbet is amazing! The lemon juice gives it just the right kick. You won't want to stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I was looking for a recipe to use my over ripe watermelon in so I didn't have to waste it, I came across this, it looked simple and the couple reviews it did have were good so I thought why not! So happy I did, this sherbet is amazing! Not only does it taste good but its super simple and quick! My husband who isn't a fan of watermelon also LOVED it! It didn't last long in our house! I have never left a review before but this was too good not to 5stars for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lindy_tx
Reviewed: May 30, 2012
Watermelon is one of my very favorites and this sherbet was great! The only problem was that it did not freeze well in my ice cream freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindy_tx

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minnetonka, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Flower Mound, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
My husband was given a watermelon however we have no watermelon lovers in our family so it sat on the counter for a few days before I thought...what could I make with it that they might like, so I tried this! I mixed it all together with an emulsion blender & I did not have an ice cream maker so I put in a metal bowl (like another reviewer) and stirred it once before going to bed. This afternoon I pulled it out to try not expecting much since I didn't have an ice cream maker and I'm not much of a watermelon lover but OMG this is really good!!! Better than sherbert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cawael

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Byron, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2012
YUMMY! Just made this. It's still setting in the freezer. Tasted it after I ran it in the ice cream machine. Very creamy and very yummy. I double the recipe except for the sugar. (I thought two cups was way too much) Turned out perfect. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hunter, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
There was a very large watermelon left on my doorstep and I was looking for unique ideas to use it all up. I purchased all ingredients for this recipe and followed the recipes exactly, except I doubled everything. There may have been too much lemon; however, the sherbert was not sour. My kids loved the watermelon, but we did not like the sherbert as well as I hoped we would. It did have a wonderful texture, but I wouldn't know how to change this enough to be comfortable trying it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Steph Laplante

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pomona, California, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Photo by MommySmith
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I loved this!! I sprinkle salt on the top just like I do with my watermelon slices. Very creamy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommySmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: New Market, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I thought it was really good and easy to make! When I wanted some, I had to let it sit out for a bit, to let it soften. Being a sherbet it wasn't as creamy as ice cream, but it was delicious and refreshing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Blanchard Angell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Watermelon Sangria

A refreshing summer beverage with watermelon juice, white wine, vodka and fruit.

Watermelon Agua Fresca

See how to make the ultimate summer refresher.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States