Watermelon Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I brought this to a cookout yesterday and everyone loved it. I did only use 1/2 c of onion as some suggested. I did add Tabasco, but next time may use jalapeno pepper. This recipe was a winner as was the Black Bean & Couscous Salad (from this site) that I also brought to the cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
We loved this recipe. It is a nice twist away from traditional salsa with your chips...It looks like regular salsa, but the taste was so refreshing. No one could believe it was watermelon, the entire office wanted a copy of the recipe. We've used it on fish too with equal reviews! Would absolutley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
this was so delicious and refreshing! i didn't have orange juice so i just used a tropical fruit juice blend, and only use half an onion or less and let it sit for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I served this for a small "appetizers and drinks" party. It was a hit. The only problem is I'm addicted to it! I wasn't even sure if I'd like it, but I love it! Yum! For presentation we did use the V shaped knife and carve the watermelon to form the bowl, this let everyone know that the salsa was NOT tomato. A+ loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M n J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I LOVED this recipe. It sounded delicious and that's what it was! I made a few adjustments for my own taste. Firstly, I thought this recipe had mangos in it, but apparently not. So here's what I did: I kept the watermelon. I substituted the pineapple with mango instead. I used 1/4 cup of onion, which was more than enough for me. I kept the cilantro and orange juice the same. I added 1/4 cup of pineapple juice. I used a little more hot sauce than required because I like spicy! I also squeezed in the juice of half a lime and a little salt to taste to give it that extra punch! I chilled it for 30 minutes to really get all the flavors nice and settled in. Came out DELICIOUS. My family loved it and I can't get enough. I drink the juice! Yum! I am thinking of making a ceviche next time with this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made this exactly as listed and it was fantastic! The whole family loved it. Served alongside blackened tilapia on a bed of basmati rice with a handful of coconut thrown into the rice cooker. Would be great with grilled shrimp or with grilled chicken breast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
OMG, I made this for a potluck of 35 people, thank goodness allrecipes.com did the recalculations for me. In all my years of cooking, this simple combination, which sound strange, was THE hit. I know that all 30 people will be asking me for the link to it here. I was truly taken aback by the hit that it was. And so refreshing too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
so yummy and refreshing! perfect for when watermelon is super cheap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
Everyone wants this recipe when I make it! I would give it 10 stars if I could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Awesome! I didn't have enough Cilantro, so I used fresh Basil, but I didn't use 1/4 cup, (just about 1 TB) because I didn't want to overpower the fruit juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Scurlock Smith

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Papillion, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States