Watermelon Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
This recipe sounded really good, but was really quite average. I did change a few things. I used fresh pinapple and fresh peppers instead of Tabasco. I also used half the amount of onion and the onion flavor still overpowered the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
We loved this recipe. It is a nice twist away from traditional salsa with your chips...It looks like regular salsa, but the taste was so refreshing. No one could believe it was watermelon, the entire office wanted a copy of the recipe. We've used it on fish too with equal reviews! Would absolutley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
Surprisingly tasty and the flavour was pretty close to tomato salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
this was so delicious and refreshing! i didn't have orange juice so i just used a tropical fruit juice blend, and only use half an onion or less and let it sit for awhile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2011
This is good, but I think that next time, I will use a jalapeno pepper instead of the Tabasco sauce! This is an easy recipe, one that is worth having!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
I thought this was very good. I did not add the hot sauce and used green peppers for a little kick. I also cut down the onion as someone suggested. I also added cantalope. Tastes great and very colorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I brought this to a cookout yesterday and everyone loved it. I did only use 1/2 c of onion as some suggested. I did add Tabasco, but next time may use jalapeno pepper. This recipe was a winner as was the Black Bean & Couscous Salad (from this site) that I also brought to the cookout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
I served this for a small "appetizers and drinks" party. It was a hit. The only problem is I'm addicted to it! I wasn't even sure if I'd like it, but I love it! Yum! For presentation we did use the V shaped knife and carve the watermelon to form the bowl, this let everyone know that the salsa was NOT tomato. A+ loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M n J

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I LOVED this recipe. It sounded delicious and that's what it was! I made a few adjustments for my own taste. Firstly, I thought this recipe had mangos in it, but apparently not. So here's what I did: I kept the watermelon. I substituted the pineapple with mango instead. I used 1/4 cup of onion, which was more than enough for me. I kept the cilantro and orange juice the same. I added 1/4 cup of pineapple juice. I used a little more hot sauce than required because I like spicy! I also squeezed in the juice of half a lime and a little salt to taste to give it that extra punch! I chilled it for 30 minutes to really get all the flavors nice and settled in. Came out DELICIOUS. My family loved it and I can't get enough. I drink the juice! Yum! I am thinking of making a ceviche next time with this recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made this exactly as listed and it was fantastic! The whole family loved it. Served alongside blackened tilapia on a bed of basmati rice with a handful of coconut thrown into the rice cooker. Would be great with grilled shrimp or with grilled chicken breast as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

Grilled Pineapple Salsa

Grilled pineapple is the perfect way to switch up salsa.

Chef John's Nectarine Salsa

You've got to try this sweet and spicy fruit salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States