Watermelon Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2014
Extremely refreshing with a great depth of flavor. Loved it! I added salt, pepper, and garlic powder as well as a splash of soy sauce and a few splashes of red wine vinegar. It also tastes great with some mint!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
This recipe was so delicious and my family really loved it. Very easy, and truly a refreshing summer time treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious with tortia chips, on fish, chicken or pork. I add 1/4 cup of fresh basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claysburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
Looks so similar to regular salsa, some people were a bit surpised. I wish the watermelon had been more ripe. I used a chipotle hot sauce which gave it a smoky dimension that was good. My nephew asked for the leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was a very good recipe. I cut up a watermelon and had a TON left over so I was looking for something different to do with it. This recipe was very tasty, and very simple. I had everything on hand, except the onion so had to do without. Instead of hot sauce, I added a large jalapeno, minced, and some chipotle chile powder. I like my salsa spicy, and it was easy to adjust to my taste. I also added some pepper and garlic, and the salt from the chips I ate it with was perfect. It turned out great. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauraritchey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was a hit. We had a small barbecue last night with another couple. Two of the four of us don't like anything "weird" (I.E. salsa with fruit in it) but gobbled this stuff right up. It's a unique salsa, perfect for the summer when watermelons are in season. I followed some of the other cooks' suggestions and used a half cup of onions rather than a full cup. I tossed about a half cup of jarred jalapeno peppers, chopped. Instead of Tabasco, I gave the salsa about 6 shakes of Tapatio hot sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
I used this recipe twice this weekend and it went over great!! Next time I will add a little more Tacasco.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wareham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
I recently made this for my son's birthday party. It was so good! Several people asked for the recipe. No one would have guessed it was watermelon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I loved this! I decided to make this because we had a fresh pineapple that needed to be used up, along with a watermelon. I am not a huge fan of watermelon so I used more pineapple and less watermelon. The combination of flavors was a perfect mixture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Klee
Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ShannaW
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I loved it, my husband not so much. I left out the tabasco b/c I’m not a fan of hot salsas but may try adding it in moderation next time. Also make sure the onions are sweet or it will over power the dish. Great combination and fabulous with chips on a hot summer night! I served it as a side with Margarita Grilled Chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Colstrip, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mango Salsa

Watch how to make this sweet, spicy salsa.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States