Watermelon Rind Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2003
This is a good recipe for what has become an old favorite in my family. The only thing we do differently is to drop the food coloring in at the end. We dye half the jars red and half green. We also throw in thinly sliced lemons at the bottom of the jars. These are delicious sweet pickles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kherder330

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staples, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Duluth, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2006
This was a very good and helpful recipe just in time for Easter. My sister brought a watermelon in with her and I put the left-overs to good use. The only thing I did different was to reduce the sugar by 1/4 cup and replace it with 1/4 cup of red sugar crystals. It added color and got rid of my extras from Valentine's day baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1SassyMassey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
I was incredibly skeptical about making this, but I got rave reviews. This recipe is a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
Thanks for the memories. My grandmother use to make these and I had never seen a recipe to try. She just us to make them and had never written the recipe down. The minute I tasted the preserves I went back in time. I followed your recipe I did have to cook a little longer. I sent some to my sisters and they had the same reaction. These are going to my Mom as a gift for Mother's Day and her birthday, along with some other baked goods, which will include bread to put these delicious preserves on. These will make her day, it sure did mine. I will keep this recipe to make every year. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa L. Gab.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Falls Church, Virginia, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Not that good. Fairly weird with too many spices and not enough fruit-flavor. Note: Be sure to peel the green rind off of the whiter part before boiling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I'm not sure if I did something wrong. Taste was good but didn't jell like it should have. It was difficult to judge how much rind to use. Try again. Perhaps using a scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
this is a disaster..its not a good idea o soak the rinds in salted water.after it's done,the taste was strange some sugary and also salty although i left the spices in it to give more flavor but it didnt help.we also make the same preserve here in turkey but we saok in lime and thts why it turns out crunchy.sorry but i didnt love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Pretty tasty! Bumped it to 4 stars after I've had time to let the taste of them grow on me. Plus, I think these things are LOADED with fiber! Can't complain in that dept. The rinds are delicately flavored and slightly sweet. There's something earthy about the way they taste...I can't put my finger on it. I didn't use a scale for my preserves (I just eyeballed it) and came up with 3 pints of preserves. The hardest part is just cutting up the rind. There was a lot of left over syrup which is technically just "simple syrup" so you could re-use it for any recipe that calls for that (like ice cream). This was fun and different, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
YUMMMMMMMY! We love this on hot buttered bread or biscuits. I used a bit more red food coloring and food proccessor to make it less chunky and more like apple butter texture. I froze the extra syrup to use as a starter for the next batch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is great stuff. I love watermelon rind preserves and I never could find a good recipe for them. My great great-grandmother had a cookie recipe that you make with these preserves and they worked out perfect. And for one of the previous reviews, these preserves aren't supposed to "jell." Everything is supposed to stay runny and syrupy. Btw, for best results, soak in alum instead of salt water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States