Watermelon Rind Preserves Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I made these preserves years and years and years ago. I haven't made them in quite a while because I lost my recipe and every year during watermelon season have gone on the internet looking for one that sounds familiar. Here it is! It is a lot of work (peeling the rind) but it is more than worth it. I found some in the store but they just were not the same. I try to tell everyone to try these if they like watermelon. Thank you so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Flavor is there...my first time making these kinds of preserves. Lots to learn. This batch didn't set quite as it should so I am reprocessing....(note to self...when recipe calls for 4 lemons...don't just use the only 2 you have. Go buy more). The are begining to boil now so I should be in high cotton soon! I really forgot the importance of the acid in jams, jellies & preserves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anita

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
For those of you who are not familiar with these, or for those who have made them and left the comments about them 'not ever thickening up' for them; They really are not what you'd normally consider to be a traditional 'preserve'. These are actually what are also more often called 'Watermelon Pickles'. They are usually used as a type of condiment, and eaten just like a 'regular pickle'. They are more similar to a sweet type of pickle that you would either snack on, or eat along side of other kinds of foods, than they are a preserve that you would traditionally use to spread onto some type of bread. Also, they have more of a sweet & sour, or tangy & spicy kind of flavor than they do a fruity type of flavor normally associated with a 'preserve'. As such, in order to be fair to the recipe, please try to keep all of that in mind when leaving your reviews. Here are some other helpful hints & tips that I hope you can find to be useful; Some of the other names that this recipe is usually called are Watermelon Candy, Watermelon Pickles, and/or Pickled Watermelon. Also, if you'd like your Watermelon Pickles to have a bit more crunch to them, soak them in Alum rather than salted water. It's also better to slice them into 2" long strips/chunks if you'll be eating them like a 'regular' pickle. Hopefully this will help to erase some of the confusion out there that has been caused due to the recipe's name. Try this recipe if you haven't done so yet, and you WILL be pleasently suprised!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Brenda the Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2010
I thought this was an interesting way to use watermelon rind, as I am German decent and I don't like to waste anything, but I added a couple handfuls of 'red hots' which contributed to the other problems verbalized for the needed red coloring tint and it also thickened up the recipe some, not to mention adding some extra cinnamon kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda the Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wenatchee, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
I had never even heard of watermellon rind preserves until I read this recipe, but I am learning to can and thought that I would be out very little if this recipe went horribly wrong. It didn't! I had no Idea watermellon rind could be so yummy! My only issue is that it is very very sweet and the processing time is not on the recipe. I processed for 15 minutes and that seems to be doing well. The spice flavor of this is perfect with bagles and cream cheese. Heavenly! I can't wait to buy more watermellon! My kids were plesently surprised as well, and when you add the food coloring it looks so pretty in the jar that I'm gonna make extra this summer to give out as Christmas gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
This is great stuff. I love watermelon rind preserves and I never could find a good recipe for them. My great great-grandmother had a cookie recipe that you make with these preserves and they worked out perfect. And for one of the previous reviews, these preserves aren't supposed to "jell." Everything is supposed to stay runny and syrupy. Btw, for best results, soak in alum instead of salt water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
YUMMMMMMMY! We love this on hot buttered bread or biscuits. I used a bit more red food coloring and food proccessor to make it less chunky and more like apple butter texture. I froze the extra syrup to use as a starter for the next batch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jodi
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Pretty tasty! Bumped it to 4 stars after I've had time to let the taste of them grow on me. Plus, I think these things are LOADED with fiber! Can't complain in that dept. The rinds are delicately flavored and slightly sweet. There's something earthy about the way they taste...I can't put my finger on it. I didn't use a scale for my preserves (I just eyeballed it) and came up with 3 pints of preserves. The hardest part is just cutting up the rind. There was a lot of left over syrup which is technically just "simple syrup" so you could re-use it for any recipe that calls for that (like ice cream). This was fun and different, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Photo by Asli   Ocak
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
this is a disaster..its not a good idea o soak the rinds in salted water.after it's done,the taste was strange some sugary and also salty although i left the spices in it to give more flavor but it didnt help.we also make the same preserve here in turkey but we saok in lime and thts why it turns out crunchy.sorry but i didnt love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Asli   Ocak

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Izmir, Izmir, Turkey
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I'm not sure if I did something wrong. Taste was good but didn't jell like it should have. It was difficult to judge how much rind to use. Try again. Perhaps using a scale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Fig Preserves

See how to turn fresh figs into sweet fruit preserves.

How to Make Peach Preserves

These fragrant, fruity preserves are amazing on toast, biscuits, and pork chops.

Watermelon, Feta and Cashew Salad

See how to make a sensational summer salad. So refreshing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States