Watermelon Pops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These were great - sugar free jello will also work and is great for kids. I thought the chocolate chips were really good in them. For 4th of July, we plan on making these again with Berry Blue Jello and White Chocolate Chips as the stars! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Duvall, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My girls and I made these this morning... they didn't turn out very pretty.... but they sure do taste good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Wow, these are delicious and easy to make. The creamy middle filling is really good and makes these extra special! The only slight change I made was instead of cool whip, I made homemade whip cream because I was out of cool whip and I didn't want to run to the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Instead of using chocolate chips I will try raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
The pops were really good.I ommited the chocolate chips.I froze mine a little longer and they do hold together really well.My guys loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fable37

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 20, 2009
My kids absolutely love these! I took the time to let each layer thicken up before adding the next one and they turned out great. It takes longer than I thought it would to spread the cream layer (especially when doubling the recipe) but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SUZYQTX
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These were a huge hit with my family! I read the reviews before making them, so I tried both ways with the choc. chips. I did some putting the chips in the strawberry jello before freezing (all the chips sink to the bottom of the cup, so they will be in the top of the pop.) The rest I made according to the recipe - putting the choc. chips in after freezing the strawberry layer. I prefer this method - but I did stir the chips in and then used a bamboo skewer to move them around and push them toward the outside of the cup. If you put them in during this step, they will be in different levels of the strawberry jello. To avoid "floaties", be sure to make the lime jello first, and make sure it has slightly congealed (not pourable, but has to be spooned on top) before putting it on top of the cream cheese layer. This way, the cream cheese cannot "float" into that layer. The kids and adults alike loved the taste, and I'm making them again for our cookout tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These were so easy to make and very refreshing. I made them for Memorial Day and they were enjoyed by adults as well as kids. I used plastic cups because I did not have paper cups and it worked fine. When taking out of the freezer to serve, roll these between your hands and push up on the bottom of the cup and they slide right out. I wish these recipes would tell you how much of everything to put in the cups so here is what I did. I used approximately 2 and a half Tbsp. of red jello mix in the bottom of the cups. I put them in the freezer for 10 minutes and then stirred in the chocolate chips. I then used approximately 2 Tbsp. of the cream cheese cool whip mix and used a teaspoon to spread it in the cups. I then used 2 and a half Tbsp. of the green jello and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Made these over the Memorial Day weekend, big hit, more with the adults than the kids. I made some with choc chips and some without. I think it was better off without them. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and froze the whip cream layer for a few minutes before adding the lime layer and did use a ziploc baggie to squeeze it in there even though I still had to use a spoon to push it down to layer it evenly. Overall, everyone was very impressed. Would defly do again, prob red, white and blue for the 4th!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
Everyone loved the watermelon pops. I had a PTO party at my house and even the adults loved how they looked and tasted. I follow the directions but my first layer was frozen to quick for my chips to sink. I had to push them down into the jello before I added the next layer. I think I will check them at about 10 or 15 minutes.I used a medium size scoop for the white layer and that worked perfect! I didn't have any of the mixture where I didn't want it. I taped the cups to make sure that there weren't any gaps between the two layers. By the time I finished my white layer my green was starting to set, but it still worked out fine. My daughter said she would like it better without the chocolate chips but my son loved the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States