Watermelon Pops Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Made these over the Memorial Day weekend, big hit, more with the adults than the kids. I made some with choc chips and some without. I think it was better off without them. I followed the advice of previous reviewers and froze the whip cream layer for a few minutes before adding the lime layer and did use a ziploc baggie to squeeze it in there even though I still had to use a spoon to push it down to layer it evenly. Overall, everyone was very impressed. Would defly do again, prob red, white and blue for the 4th!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I don’t know how anyone was able to get these to stay together and come out in one piece. I had to serve them on a plate with a spoon. Be sure to add your popsicle stick in the first strawberry layer, not the white Cool Whip layer or lime layer. They were unattractive and the texture was very strange-like hard slime. The kids didn’t seem to mind though, but I will not be making these again. I waited a full day before adding each layer to make sure that the layers were completely frozen, and I still got white floaties at the base of my pops. The Cool Whip/cream cheese mixture was very good though, and I will use it in the future with fresh berries or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JenCooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Photo by homeschooler3
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
These were so easy to make and very refreshing. I made them for Memorial Day and they were enjoyed by adults as well as kids. I used plastic cups because I did not have paper cups and it worked fine. When taking out of the freezer to serve, roll these between your hands and push up on the bottom of the cup and they slide right out. I wish these recipes would tell you how much of everything to put in the cups so here is what I did. I used approximately 2 and a half Tbsp. of red jello mix in the bottom of the cups. I put them in the freezer for 10 minutes and then stirred in the chocolate chips. I then used approximately 2 Tbsp. of the cream cheese cool whip mix and used a teaspoon to spread it in the cups. I then used 2 and a half Tbsp. of the green jello and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by homeschooler3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by SUZYQTX
Reviewed: May 24, 2009
These were a huge hit with my family! I read the reviews before making them, so I tried both ways with the choc. chips. I did some putting the chips in the strawberry jello before freezing (all the chips sink to the bottom of the cup, so they will be in the top of the pop.) The rest I made according to the recipe - putting the choc. chips in after freezing the strawberry layer. I prefer this method - but I did stir the chips in and then used a bamboo skewer to move them around and push them toward the outside of the cup. If you put them in during this step, they will be in different levels of the strawberry jello. To avoid "floaties", be sure to make the lime jello first, and make sure it has slightly congealed (not pourable, but has to be spooned on top) before putting it on top of the cream cheese layer. This way, the cream cheese cannot "float" into that layer. The kids and adults alike loved the taste, and I'm making them again for our cookout tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Just made these tonight for a party tomorrow. Really wish I had read the other reviews. The recipe is poorly written. I had to guess how much of each layer ingredient to add to the cups. My suggestions: Mix up the strawberry layer first. Freeze the pops after adding the whipped cream, before adding lime layer. I will update tomorrow on taste. Update: These are really refreshing on a hot afternoon. I'm going to make these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
I guess I didn't take enough time to let every layer set. But, I followed the directions to a T and they didn't turn out at all. I'm not sure why it says to make the lime jello first when it's the last one you add. I did use a ziploc baggie like a icing bag, so it made putting the cream cheese layer in easier. But, all of my cream cheese mixture floated to the top when I added the lime jello. I'm not sure I would try to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2009
My girls and I made these this morning... they didn't turn out very pretty.... but they sure do taste good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiele Briscoe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nucla, Colorado, USA
Living In: Rocky Ford, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2009
My kids absolutely love these! I took the time to let each layer thicken up before adding the next one and they turned out great. It takes longer than I thought it would to spread the cream layer (especially when doubling the recipe) but it is worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I wish I would have realized or read the feedback that stated the coolwhip should be frozen before adding the lime layer. Mine floated to the top, and of course they're for an event tomorrow. booo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Instead of using chocolate chips I will try raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

PHILADELPHIA Classic Cheesecake

See how to make a rich and creamy New York-style cheesecake.

PHILADELPHIA Pumpkin Swirl Cheesecake

See how to make an impressive, surprisingly easy, marbled pumpkin cheesecake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States