Watermelon Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
Sorry,but I seem to be one of the few who disliked this pie. Did not taste good,and yes I followed the recipe. Seemed like a waste of a good watermelon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
I made it for a crowd of 40, so I used graham cracker crumbs and followed the recipe for a crust. I then placed the crumbs in a shallow 'steam' pan and baked it for 10 minutes to give it a little more texture. A little fresh chopped mint to garnish, refrigerated it over night and it was a sensational hit! Great to end a Southern Summertime meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Great recipe. I suggest using Jolly Rancher brand instead of the Jello brand gelatin. My personal preference - more pop in the flavor. I suggest eating this pie when freshly made or the next day. After a couple days, the graham cracker pie gets a little soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2013
I, too, couldn't find watermelon jello at my local store, but used strawberry/banana instead. I also added a few chopped up strawberries to the mix. Everyone loved it and it was so easy that my 4-year old did most of the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
This is an excellent pie! A full package of jell-o mix was too strong for me me, but my smoker friends thought it was perfect. I used a little more than half the package of jell-o mix for the second pie and it was perfect! We ate this in mid-September and it reminded us of the great summer we just had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
yummmy yummmy yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
My kids love this. It is a fantastically light desert that is perfect after a grilled meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
This was the wonderful, light easy dessert. I will make this again and again. The flavor was yummy and, a winner after a filling dinner. You have to try this one for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bob and Joanne

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2010
This was pretty easy to make and pretty good to eat. I couldn't find watermelon jello, so I used the melon jello (combo of melons). This was green however, so i added 3 drops of red food coloring to the jello whipped topping mixture to make it pink. I made the pie in the morning and it was almost too much to fit in the pie crust. It sat all day until we cut about 8 pm that night. The next morning you could see the remainder of the pie was a little runny, so I do recommend trying to eat this quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
This pie was very easy and delicious. I went to three different stores and couldn't find watermelon jello. I substituted Watermelon Fusion jello (cantaloupe, honeydew, and watermelon. It was green so I added a couple drops of red food coloring. I didn't boil the water before I added it to the jello. I had no problem with the pie setting up in the fridge. It had a great watermelon flavor. My watermelon was very ripe. I drained it so that it wouldn't make my pie too wet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Peach Pie

Watch how to make this old-fashioned family favorite.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States