Watermelon Fire and Ice Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2002
Was the hit of the office potluck. One thing I found so as to not have it become too watery, is to let the chopped watermelon drain in a colander for a while; otherwise this has replaced my grilled veggies as the "you have to bring this to the bbq" item
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2006
I made this for a party last night and everyone liked it. I used the watermelon halves as bowls and served it with Hint of Lime tortilla chips. I didn't adhere to the stated measurements, but used whatever I bought. I hollowed out the entire watermelon, used an entire bunch of green onions, two bell peppers, 3 limes, 1 bunch of cilantro and 3 fresh jalapenos. I drained the watermelon and used the juice for watermelon martinis. P.S. Everyone probably knows this, but I didn't. Use gloves when you chop and seed fresh jalapenos. I didn't and my hands burned like fire throughout the entire night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
155 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2006
who knew something this simple could be so good! I had almost a half a seedless watermelon that was a little too ripe for eating. I doubled the recipe. Only changes I made were to add 1 extra tbsp. of onion(only had red onion), and used fresh garlic (1 large clove for the double recipe) and added salt to taste. I did only use 2 tbsp. of lime juice but grated the zest of some of the lime rind. This allowed the lime flavor to come through without the extra liquid. Just drain it in a colander after dicing and it gets alot of the liquid out. This was such a refreshing salsa, I ate it plain for a salad. This would also make a great summer side dish. Unbelievable blend of flavor and the textures. The sweetness mixed with the other basic salsa flavors was outstanding. I loved the crunch of it also. A wonderful salsa/sidedish that would also make a great conversation piece at a gathering; no one would expect watermelon to be used in something like this. Just look at the calorie/carb count also! Another great plus.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2003
THIS SALSA WAS AMAAAAAAZING!!! WOW!!! You have GOT to try this stuff! The juices of lime and watermelon mix together sooo well! the jalapenos make it spicy, and the watermelon adds a burst of sweetness! i made this in 10 minutes, and it was gone in 20! i will DEFINITELY make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Man, was this great! I made this for a bunch of friends, and when we ran out of chips, people started eating it straight with a spoon. I added a few dashes of a couple kinds of hot sauce to spice it up. It's best served very, very, cold. Thanks for this interesting and delicious alternative salsa!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2002
This is a great recipe! The combo is a little strange and I just had to try it. The watermelon is a great filler because it essentially has little taste and adds a nice clean and refreshing note to the peppers and spices. I also added more jalepeno and garlic salt, but adjust to your taste. Very good with taco chips. All the skeptics in my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this tonight for a family birthday get together. Everyone loved it except my husband, but he doesen't like hardly any food. I had to tell them it was watermelon. I didn't follow the recipe exact. I used what I had. I know I put in extra lime juice. And also drained the melon. The kids took all the left overs home. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAMMA KATSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2003
Very, very good! Just like the salsa used with grilled foods in expensive restaurants! I added a chopped mango the second time. I drain the salsa in a colander just before serving. It will continue to weep--just keep draining. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellsville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2002
This is a huge hit wherever I take it, and I have memorized the recipe since I am asked for it so much. ALL SKEPTICS HAVE LOVED THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2006
This recipe was great. I drained the watermelon and tried to keep out as much liquid as possible, but the bottom of the bowl was still pretty much all liquid. My husband and my sister both said that was their favorite part and asked me not to drain it so much next time. Made it for a family bbq and all who tried it loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 243) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States