Watermelon Fire and Ice Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Yummy. I added extra green onions, fresh minced garlic and extra cilantro also. And salt which it definitely needed. It was good and I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Foley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Great Recipe, I'll pass this off to my friends and family. Thanks. J
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmcmill

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
Made this for tailgating and it held up very well in the heat! The flavors were perfect together and great for a hot day in the sun. Served it with Scoops so you could catch all the juice and not drip. Next time I will make it the night before and strain more of the juice off...but either way it wasn't too "wet". Everyone enjoyed it because it was something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Made this for the holiday weekend and it was pretty good, and fun to watch people try it. The only thing is the recipe does not call for enough jalapeno so I added more...it still wasn't hot enough (for me). If you like a sweet and refreshing salsa this recipe is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Fabulous! Big hit at a party. I used a smidge more lime, jalepeno and garlic salt then recipe called for as it needed a little kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2010
Yum! Used regular white onion instead of green onion because that's what I had. This is fresh and unusual; the perfect use for summer's bounty of melon. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
I made this tonight for a family birthday get together. Everyone loved it except my husband, but he doesen't like hardly any food. I had to tell them it was watermelon. I didn't follow the recipe exact. I used what I had. I know I put in extra lime juice. And also drained the melon. The kids took all the left overs home. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GAMMA KATSY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Federal Way, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
This is delicious. I added cantaloupe and lime zest and juice. My family loved it. Very similar to melon salad we had at an dinner theatre .I also substituted red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JennyJenn
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
this was amazing! it was a big hit at my pool party. so refreshing on a hot summer day in Florida. i highly recommend chopping this the night before, draining it the next day, and THEN add the other ingredients. i drained as i chopped, added the ingredients, and thought it would be fine, but had watermelon soup the next morning (it is WATERmelon, after all). by the time i drained it, i feel it diluted the flavors, so definitely let sit overnight, drain, and then add other ingredients. if possible, let that sit for a few hours in the fridge so that the ingredients can meld well before serving. it was fun to serve this in the watermelon bowl as well. i added in quite a bit of garlic and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2010
I've been searching for a good tomato-less salsa recipe for my father (he's allergic) and this is it! Wonderful!! I've made this 3 times now and I would suggest just a few minor tweaks: I actually double the cilantro and green onion AND we eat the red, sweet "heart" of the watermelon and use the rest for salsa. I like a little of the whiter melon (the part you generally don't eat) to add a little textural variety to the salsa. Double or triple the recipe -- it goes FAST. WONDERFUL!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grandview, Missouri, USA
Living In: Andover, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States