Watermelon Fire and Ice Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
My kids just sampled this at the Farmer's Market and begged me to buy it. I paid $5 for a 250 mL container! Then I came home and checked Allrecipes. I can't believe I paid that much for something so easy! The ingredients are exactly the same but of course I don't know what quantities they used so I can't comment on this particular recipe but I think I would be inclined to use the whole amount of lime juice if not extra. It's a great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
Awesome! Everyone LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
This was a big hit at a bbq. I made a few changes - used yellow onion instead of green, doubled the whole recipe, used twice as much onion, 2 cloves of garlic pressed, and added some lime zest. Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
LOVED this! Draining it is key (thanks for the suggestion via reviews!) - I was amazed at how long I was able to drain it (an hour?) Kind of eyeballed the measurements - just short of a whole (small'ish) watermelon, a whole jalapeno, hence more cilantro, lime juice and onion. Loved the "hint of lime" tortilla chips with this as someone suggested, and can't wait to try this on top of grilled chicken (as yet ANOTHER person suggested!) Such an intriguging taste combination!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waxhaw, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Really good with modifications! Needs more salt, lime, cilantro. Followed others' suggestions and drained the watermelon in a colander. With my changes, it's a 5 star!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
YOU MUST LET IT SET!! I tried this right after making it and I wasn't a fan, but by that night I couldn't stay out of it. Hubby couldn't get pass salsa without tomatoes, but I brought it to work to share and we all rave about it. Even passed the recipe on. It's a definite summer salsa, refreshing with a bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Schulte Kubitski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
Made this for a gathering this weekend. Guests loved it and it had just the right amount of heat. I didn't use cilantro because the husband is not a fan, but I felt it was definitely missing something without it. Also, I used chopped garlic and salt instead of garlic salt. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lauralindhe

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Springville, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I tried this for a summer gathering of some gal friends. I used the watermelon as the bowl for the salsa. Everyone was surprised at how much they liked it. Even some that didn't want to even attempt a fruit salsa were surprised they liked it. Served with light corn tortillas, but several just ate it like it is without the chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
AMAZING! I left out the cilantro because I hate it and added habanero peppers because we like it hot! The sweetness of the melon pairs perfectly with the flavor if the habanero (and the orange color adds a nice touch). I took a milder version to a work potluck and it was a huge hit - everyone wanted the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara Boyd Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I made this for a family picnic and after they got over the surprise it wasn't tomato salsa, they loved it! We're going to two more picnics soon I'm making this. I agree with another review, the watermelon needs to be drained. It's even better the next day with more flavor from the cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jim Haggarty

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 245) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States