Watermelon Fire and Ice Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
What a unique and wonderful flavor. Like others, I let the watermelon drain for a few min. Used kosher salt and a fresh clove of garlic instead of garlic salt; vidalia onion instead of green onion. I didn't measure anything but I would guess that I used alot more that 2T of cilantro. Let it sit in the fridge for a few hours and all of the flavors blend together to create something truly unique. I served it over broiled tilapia, but could have just eaten it as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
A five star hit at the neighborhood bbq! I should have doubled the recipe. In order to keep it from getting too watery mix the garlic salt with the chopped watermelon prior to mixing with the remaining ingredients. It will help draw out some of the moisture when straining the watermelon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Loved this, actually topped hot dogs on a bun with it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2012
Served this as an appetizer with Tostido Lime chips and everyone loved it and asked for the recipe. It's light, fresh and would be great served on fish. Definitely needs to be drained before serving, so store in separate container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
We enjoyed the difference this brings, but missed the more savory/tart flavors of a traditional tomato salsa. Still, I can see it being a hit at a party if it doesn't get too watery sitting out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Everyone loved this! Definitely drain the watermelon first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Wow! This was so good!! I doubled all the ingredients because I had a ton of watermelon to use up. I could eat this with a spoon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is VERY good! Of course, like so many others, I changed it a bit to our tastes. We used yellow bell pepper (don't like green), and a couple dashes of Frank's Hot Sauce instead of the jalapeno, which we also don't like. The Frank's added enough heat for the "fire". This is good the first day, second day, etc etc, if it lasts that long! I've already had two requests this year, and we're picking up the stuff to make it again this weekend. Thank you for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KittyFanatic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
Excellent as is -- always get asked for the recipe at parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
OUTSTANDING! I have been asked to bring this to every summer party we are invited to. I agree with the other reviewers to let the watermelon sit in a colander while cutting the other ingredients- this allows the salsa to not get overly wet while it sits out later on. People will love this salsa so much that the regular tomato one will sit off to the side and will be a "massive let down" when they are forced to have it if the watermelon version is gone. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chardon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 247) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cranberry Salsa

Salsa! An inventive way to use seasonal cranberries.

Fire-Roasted Cherry Tomato Salsa

See what fire-roasting the tomatoes does for this simple salsa.

Tomatillo Salsa Verde

Vibrant condiment sauce made with tomatillos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States