Watermelon Fire and Ice Salsa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I thought this was okay, but just didn't taste right with salt in it. I have never been a fan of salt on watermelon, so maybe that's what the problem was. I think I'll try it one more time, without the salt. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made this exactly as directed. One thing that may have been more helpful is knowing how small to chop the watermelon. I think it would have been much easier to eat on chips if it was in 1/2 inches or smaller cubes like you'd do for pico de gallo. My family didn't like this. It was just okay in my opinion. Thank you for the post though - it's fun to try something new!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
Teenagers seem to shy away from trying this recipe. Although adults were willing to try it - teens were not as interested. Lovely presention by serving in the watermelon with the piqued edge, fresh flavour with the watermelon but I think the success spins on how much cilantro is in favour. I enjoyed this recipe, but I won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
I got rave reviews at our office treat day. It was a perfect addition to our "Summer Celebration" theme. I will most definitely be making this again and again - but next time, I'm going to double (or triple?) the recipe so I have some to enjoy at home. There was nothing left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Too Hot!!! . . . but the neighbor said it was just 'right.' Won't make again for ourselves, but did pass the recipe on to the neighbor's wife for her to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Super Star Salsa, I doubled lime juice,fresh squeezed, and added 2 Tbls. fresh chopped mint. Great with any thing !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Wonderful, Refreshing and a Great change from tomatoes. I was skeptic until I tasted and WoW! All who have tried the salsa have loved it! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
What a unique and wonderful flavor. Like others, I let the watermelon drain for a few min. Used kosher salt and a fresh clove of garlic instead of garlic salt; vidalia onion instead of green onion. I didn't measure anything but I would guess that I used alot more that 2T of cilantro. Let it sit in the fridge for a few hours and all of the flavors blend together to create something truly unique. I served it over broiled tilapia, but could have just eaten it as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
A five star hit at the neighborhood bbq! I should have doubled the recipe. In order to keep it from getting too watery mix the garlic salt with the chopped watermelon prior to mixing with the remaining ingredients. It will help draw out some of the moisture when straining the watermelon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Loved this, actually topped hot dogs on a bun with it also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 244) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

How to Make Avocado Tomatillo Salsa

Discover how to make the perfect summer salsa.

Annie's Fruit Salsa and Cinnamon Chips

Chips and salsa get a sweet, fruity makeover!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States